Career Exploration Resources

This book covers seven of the many, many careers in this growing and well-respected field. You'll also find interviews with professionals talking about their day-to-day and their take on the future of their fields. Biomedical Engineer Clinical Biochemist Clinical Laboratory Technologists Epidemiologist Forensic Scientist Medical scientist Microbiologist

Jobs in nursing are projected to grow 15% by 2026, much faster than the average for all occupations, because of an increased emphasis on preventive care; growing rates of chronic conditions, such as diabetes and obesity; and greater demand for healthcare services from the baby-boom population. This volume explores all levels of the nursing profession, to give students and adult job-seekers real-world information about their many career paths, including: Cardiovascular Nursing, Family Nurse Practitioner, Geriatric Nursing, Neonatal Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing and Women's Health Nursing.

So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much money can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers eight main areas of the medical office professionals field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Nurse Practitioner -Physician Assistant -Medical Records and Health Information Technologist -Optometrist -Pharmacy Technician -Phlebotomist -Sonographer -Surgical Technologist

Welcome to the medical technician field! If you are interested in a career as a medical technician, you've come to the right book. What exactly do these people do on the job every day? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in this field? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various professions? Is this the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Medical Technicians: A Practical Career Guide, which includes interviews with professionals in this field book covers the following medical technician careers. -Cardiovascular Technologists (ECG or EKG Technicians) -Nuclear Medicine Technologists -Phlebotomy Technicians -Laboratory Technicians -Surgical Technologists -Radiologic Technologists (x-ray, MRI, and CT Technicians)

So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers the following areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions.

With this book, you will gain a solid understanding of the issues and trends that affect the nursing profession. Not only will you graduate with patient care skills, but you will advance your career with insights into writing a resume, interviewing, finding a job, and obtaining specialty certifications. This easy-to-read text prepares you for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam and in professional nursing practice. Tips for transitioning into the workplace are included in chapters such as NCLEX-RN® Exam and the New Graduate, Employment Considerations: Opportunities, Resumes, and Interviewing; and Mentorship, Preceptorship, and Nurse Residency Programs.

Provides comprehensive coverage of all the major health professions. This valuable resource is designed for students who are interested in pursuing a health-related career but are still exploring and have not yet decided on a career. Outlines more than 75 careers and touches on every major facet of the field including a description of the profession and typical work settings; educational, licensure, and certification requirements; salary and growth projections; and internet resources on educational programs. Provides a thorough review of the U.S. healthcare delivery system, managed care, health care financing, reimbursement, insurance coverage, Medicare, Medicaid, and the impact of new technology on healthcare services. Information on career preparation and development is also included.

This book provides a unique and distinct perspective on career development and management. It covers timely and relevant topics, strategies, tips, and examples for professional nurses to use to develop and manage their careers from beginning to end.

This book provides knowledge required for effective employment skills, understanding basic anatomy and physiology of common chronic diseases, teaching how to access and understand health knowledge, resume development, and interview proficiency. The bookn provides an overarching foundation for several public health and clinical careers, such as nursing, health education, physician assistant, and counseling.- In four sections, the book covers: Community Health Workers in the Community; Health and Disease; Aspects of Aging; and Health Care, Ethics and Professionalism-The chapters cover a summarized list of the most common state and national competencies for community health worker training.