Career Exploration Resources

In a time when technology development is increasingly guiding the formation of new business models, it is important to adapt to the situation. NFTs, web3 or the metaverse is already commonplace. Development plays a huge role in the job description of artists and managers.

Drawing on his years of experience as a manager for numerous record-breaking artists and bands, Brickell explains the nitty gritty details of what it takes to be an artist, a manager, a promotor, a booking agent, and much more. He shares industry secrets on the formula to a successful song, and he gives invaluable tips on how to put on a successful show and tour.

Whether it be music, dance, cinematography, costume design, or many other choices, students interested in a career in theatre and the performing arts have an incredibly wide variety of options to choose from when selecting a career path. Careers in Theatre & Performing Arts is designed to provide need-to-know information on the various careers in this popular field. Careers in Theatre & Performing Arts provides detailed information on 25 different career paths, including: Actor Dancer Camera Operator Costume Designer Makeup Artist Art Director Stage Manager Music Director . Information-packed chapters provide real-world information about these in-demand professions, including: A Day in the Life, Work Environment, Education & Training, Earnings & Advancement, Employment Outlook, Networking Contacts, Areas with the Highest Employment Levels, and Conversations with Real Professionals.

A musician might start by playing guitar in their teenaged bedroom, but the machinery behind their career is significant. Songwriters, composers, singers, all levels of musicians, and conductors train with individual teachers and often attend arts and music schools. Performance spaces managers and booking agents, sound engineers, promoters, and traveling crews are all crucial in bringing live performances to their audiences. On the business side, talent and business managers guide careers, and entertainment attorneys review contracts. The evolving recording business hosts a variety of careers as vinyl recording reemerge, and streaming platforms take the place of live performances due to the pandemic. Musicians in recording and digital media can also work on a range of projects such as recording radio and TV commercials or video game and film scores. Career options in the music industry are more varied than ever before, and technology just expands the field.

How to build a profitable career with the many tools at our fingertips in the post-COVID era and beyond, from conquering social media and mastering the digital landscape to embracing authentic fan connection and simply learning how to persevere.

Rich Redmond, drummer for superstar Jason Aldean, provides a shot of inspiration for those interested in jump-starting a music career. This is the ultimate behind-the-scenes and fun-to-read book looking at the country music industry and music careers. Redmond takes you on a tour of Nashville and many other country music meccas: from the massive stadiums to the honky-tonks and the wide variety of jobs that make the industry go. You'll learn the various skill sets needed to become successful in the industry as well as predictions for the future of country music among many other things.

The Thirteenth Edition of this powerhouse best-selling text maintains its tradition as the most comprehensive, up-to-date guide to the music industry in all of its diversity. Readers new to the music business and seasoned professionals alike will find David Baskerville, Tim Baskerville, and Serona Elton′s handbook the go-to source, regardless of their specialty within the music field. Music Business Handbook and Career Guide is ideal for introductory courses such as Introduction to the Music Business, Music and Media, and other survey courses as well as more specialized courses such as the Record Industry, Music Careers, Artist Management, and more.  The fully updated Thirteenth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution, where this predominant form of music consumption stands today and is heading in the future. Rapid changes in music licensingare addressed and how they impact creators, musical work performance licensing, compulsory and negotiated mechanicals, and sound recording licenses. The new edition also analyzes the changing picture of music video and shows how music video has been upended by on-demand streaming.  Lastly, there is all-new coverage of COVID-19and how the concert industry has been impacted as well as digital advances that have been made.   

Jill Timmons provides compelling real-world examples of music entrepreneurs who forged their own paths to success. In addition to chapters on careers in higher education, guidance in how to develop a dynamic business plan, and effective time management, this expanded second edition includes up-to-date strategies for meeting the challenges of today's current marketplace, including a greatly expanded section on grant writing and financial development. The new edition also offers a new collection of diverse and inspiring stories taken from interviews with a range of successful musicians, along with personal narrative from the author's work as a professional musician and consultant. There is also an extensive bibliography of additional resources, and the companion website offers downloadable worksheets and questionnaires to assist the reader in igniting their own thriving musician's journey.