Languages

The result of a unique ten-year collaboration between two of the world's foremost dictionary publishers, The Oxford Duden German Dictionary offers the most comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date coverage available of the general vocabulary of contemporary German and English. Here is a state-of-the-art reference work with all the features you would expect from an Oxford Dictionary. Drawing on unparalleled resources, this outstanding dictionary will be the first choice of students, teachers, and translators, as well as anyone else wanting a clear and authoritative English-German dictionary.

This quick-reference dictionary for language students and travelers to German-speaking countries presents more than 4,000 informal, commonly-used words and phrases in German with English translations and equivalent phrases.

The Pocket Oxford German Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary German and English. More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of German grammar, including verb tables for quick reference.

The dictionary is based on a new concept which takes into account recent developments and findings in lexicographical research. It combines the best features of monolingual and bilingual dictionaries as well as learner dictionaries. Every sense of a word is first fully explained and then provided with translation equivalents. The grammatical behaviour of the words, their construction patterns are described in a language that is clear and easy to understand.

The quick way to learn more than 6,000 German words and phrases. Features a complete range of illustrated objects and scenes from everyday life. Effective learning for any situation, from home and office to dining out. Easy to use, with two-way indexes.

Learn more than 10,000 of the most useful words and phrases in German with this beautifully illustrated dictionary for German-language students. The words are shown in a visual context in themed sections covering practical or everyday topics (such as shopping, food, or study), providing learners with all the vocabulary they need for work, travel, and leisure.

This concise dictionary is intended to be helpful in the reading of archaeological books and publications, and in the writing of papers and articles in both English and German. The aim of this work is to help, in particular, students and on-site archaeologists to find quickly a word relating to a specific period, a specific area or a research field.

This established reference work for librarians and translators concentrates on current terminology used in the many facets of librarianship and related fields. This edition has been roughly revised and brought up-to-date and includes 2,551 more entries than the previous edition.

This comprehensive dictionary on Solar Energy and Technology encourages communication within the field, incorporating all concepts of state-of-the-art solar technologies, and includes essential terms for alternative and sustainable energy technologies.The book covers all key technologies from photovoltaic technology, nanophotovoltaics, solar materials, thermal systems to energy storage, applications of solar power, hybrid power systems, infrastructure, economics, and much more. For the engineer, scientist, translator, manager, salesman, marketing specialist, and even the layman of solar technologies. Over 8000 entries on solar infrastructures, components, alternative energy technologies, and solar hybrid technology developments.

Frontmatter -- Contents, Inhalt -- Introduction -- Geleitwort -- Foreword to the first edition -- Vorwort zur 1. Auflage -- Foreword to the fifth edition -- Vorwort zur 5. Auflage -- Abbreviations, Abkürzungen