Languages

This newly revised Larousse Dictionary is ideal for the more sophisticated traveler, business person, student, and anyone interested in achieving greater fluency in contemporary French and English. The clear typographical layout and style, together with detailed treatment of vocabulary allows the user to quickly grasp the important nuances of language and translate and comprehend accurately. Containing 250,000 words, phrases, and translations, it is an ideal companion for both general and professional use.

This quick-reference dictionary for language students and travelers to French-speaking countries presents more than 4,000 informal, commonly-used words and phrases in French with English translations and equivalent phrases. This edition will help all students and travelers who have an intermediate-level knowledge of French but need to familiarize themselves with informal speech. Words and phrases are presented with grammatical information, their English meanings, and a sentence or extended phrase in French to illustrate usage, followed by the English translation.

The Oxford Hachette French Dictionary is the most comprehensive French dictionary available, This edition is updated with thousands of new words and cultural notes. New features include thousands of new words from technology and medicine to colloquial slang.

The Firefly French/English Visual Dictionary is an unparalleled reference to the world around us and an indispensable tool for language education. Its 4,800 full-color illustrations show what other dictionaries can only describe in black-and-white text. There are 28,000 terms and phrases revealed in detailed lifelike illustrations that make identification quick and accurate. French terms are identified by gender, and two indexes make it fast and easy to find a term in either language.

This edition of Collins French Dictionary & Grammar has been revised and updated to offer extensive and relevant coverage of today's English and French, with thousands of phrases and examples guiding the user to the most appropriate translation.

The third edtion of the Pocket Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary French and English, with brand-new words in each language. The grammar supplement provides full information on all the key points of French and English grammar, including verb tables for quick reference

This is an ideal dictionary for students taking French in combination with a business qualification at college or university or for anyone doing business in the French-speaking world. It provides an exhaustive range of business vocabulary across many core areas. Detailed treatment of all vocabulary items is provided, along with thousands of example phrases illustrating important constructions.

The dictionary contains terms covering the following fields and subfields of arts and antiques: painting, drawing, engraving, sculpture, architecture, dressmaking, armament, heraldry, ceramics, styles and art criticism, music, furniture, religious monuments and objects, textile, gilding, numismatics, jewels, and cabinet-making.

The Historical Dictionary of French Theater relates the history of the French theater through a chronology, introduction, bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on authors, trends, genres, concepts, and literary and historical developments that played a central role in the evolution of French theater.

The Routledge Dictionary of Cultural References in Modern French reveals the hidden cultural dimension of contemporary French, as used in the press, going beyond the limited and purely lexical approach of traditional bilingual dictionaries. This cultural dictionary of French provides the reader with clear and concise explanations of the crucial cultural dimension behind the most frequently used words and phrases found in the contemporary French press. This vital background information will allow readers to go beyond a superficial understanding of the French press and the French language in general, to see the hidden yet implied cultural significance that is so transparent to the native speaker.