PSCC Libraries: New Books: May 2023

OPTIONS

Intercampus Loans
Recommend a Title

Intercampus Book Delivery Form
See something that interests you at another campus location? No need to drive all around town -- If you are a current student, faculty, or staff member, you can request delivery via intercampus loan! Just fill out the form and the book will be delivered to your campus library.

Recommended Library Materials Form
Use the online Recommend Library Materials Form to suggest new titles for the Library's collection.

A: GENERAL WORKS

The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2023 by Sarah Janssen
Hardin Valley. Get thousands of facts at your fingertips with this essential resource: sports, pop culture, science and technology, U.S. history and government, world geography, business, and so much more. The World Almanac is America's bestselling reference book of all time, with more than 83 million copies sold. For more than 150 years, this compendium of information has been the authoritative source for school, library, business, and home. The 2023 edition reviews the biggest events of 2022 and will be your go-to source for questions on any topic in the upcoming year. Features include: Coronavirus Status Report, 2022 Election Results, Top 10 News Topics, Year in Sports, Year in Pictures, Offbeat News Stories, Time Capsule, The World at a Glance.

B: PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION

Brain builders: easy exercises to sharpen your mind / Frank Minirth
BF431.3 .M56 2007
Hardin Valley

Emotional: how feelings shape our thinking / Leonard Mlodinow
BF511 .M59 2023
Hardin Valley

The science of evil: on empathy and the origins of cruelty / Simon Baron-Cohen
BF575.E55 B37 2022
Hardin Valley

The bullied brain: heal your scars and restore your health / Jennifer Fraser
BF637.B85 F74 2022
Hardin Valley

Body image and eating disorders: an anthropological and psychological overview / Fabio Gabrielli, Floriana Irtelli
BF697.5.B63 G33 2022
Hardin Valley

Bullying in youth sports training: new perspectives and practical strategies / Miguel Nery, Carlos Neto, António Rosado and Peter K. Smith
BF720.B85 N47 2020
Hardin Valley

The Gospel of Judas: a new translation with introduction and commentary / David Brakke
BS2860.J832 B73 2022
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

D: WORLD HISTORY

How did it happen? Understanding the Holocaust by Christoph Dieckmann; Rūta Vanagaitė
Hardin Valley. In this compelling book, Lithuanian author Ruta Vanagaite holds an extended conversation with noted historian Christoph Dieckmann. His exploration of the causes and consequences of the Holocaust in Lithuania provides the first overview for general readers that considers the perspectives of all the central groups involved--Jews, Lithuanians, and Germans. Drawing on a rich array of sources in all the key languages--Yiddish, Ivrit, Lithuanian, and German--Dieckmann considers not only the Berlin-based orientation of the German perpetrators but also the space where the Shoah took place--Lithuanian society with its Jewish minority under German occupation. Dieckmann shows that the Holocaust could not have unfolded throughout German-dominated Europe without the conditional cooperation of non-Germans in each occupied country. Existing antisemitism was radicalized from the 1930s onward, turning Jews, under the enormous stress of unrelenting warfare and often instable conditions of occupation, into what were perceived as deadly enemies.

E & F: HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

Punch me up to the Gods by Brian Broome
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains. Punch Me Up to the Gods introduces a powerful new talent in Brian Broome, whose early years growing up in Ohio as a dark-skinned Black boy harboring crushes on other boys propel forward this gorgeous, aching, and unforgettable debut. Brian’s recounting of his experiences—in all their cringe-worthy, hilarious, and heartbreaking glory—reveal a perpetual outsider awkwardly squirming to find his way in. Indiscriminate sex and escalating drug use help to soothe his hurt, young psyche, usually to uproarious and devastating effect. A no-nonsense mother and broken father play crucial roles in our misfit’s origin story. But it is Brian’s voice in the retelling that shows the true depth of vulnerability for young Black boys that is often quietly near to bursting at the seams. Cleverly framed around Gwendolyn Brooks’s poem “We Real Cool,” the iconic and loving ode to Black boyhood, Punch Me Up to the Gods is at once playful, poignant, and wholly original. Broome’s writing brims with swagger and sensitivity, bringing an exquisite and fresh voice to ongoing cultural conversations about Blackness in America.

G: GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION

Fairy tales of Appalachia / edited by Stacy Sivinski ; photographs by Jamie Sivinski
GR108.15 .F35 2023
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Buying in: big-time women's college basketball and the future of college sports / Aaron L. Miller
GV886 .M46 2022
Hardin Valley

The nonrunner's marathon guide for women: get off your butt and on with your training / Dawn Dais
GV1061.18.W66 D35 2019
Hardin Valley

Run to the finish: the everyday runner's guide to avoiding injury, ignoring the clock, and loving the run / Amanda Brooks
GV1061.5 .B775 2020
Hardin Valley

H: BUSINESS, ECONOMICS, SOCIOLOGY

The playful entrepreneur: how to adapt and thrive in uncertain times / Mark Dodgson and David M. Gann
HB615 .D63 2021
Hardin Valley

Poverty, by America / Matthew Desmond
HC110.P6 D46 2023
Hardin Valley

Protecting your privacy in a data-driven world / Claire McKay Bowen
HD30.3815 .B68 2022
Hardin Valley

The innovation navigator: transforming your organization in the era of digital design and collaborative culture / Tucker J. Marion and Sebastian K. Fixson
HD58.8 .M267 2018
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

The young entrepreneur: how to start a business while you're still a student / Swish Goswami and Quinn Underwood
HD62.5 .G673 2022
Hardin Valley

Beer and society: how we make beer and beer makes us / Eli Revelle Yano Wilson and Asa B. Stone
HD9397.U52 W55 2022
Hardin Valley

Oil, the state, and war: the foreign policies of petrostates / Emma Ashford
HD9560.5 .A72 2022
Hardin Valley

50 ways to get a job: an unconventional guide to finding work on your terms / Dev Aujla
HF5382.7 .A865 2018
Hardin Valley

You turn: get unstuck, discover your direction, and design your dream career / Ashley Stahl
HF5384 .S73 2021
Hardin Valley

The direct mail revolution: how to create profitable direct mail campaigns in a digital world / Robert W. Bly
HF5415.126 B5829 2019
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

The generation myth: how to improve intergenerational relationships in the workplace / Michael J. Urick
HF5549.5.C75 U75 2019
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Inclusion on purpose: an intersectional approach to creating a culture of belonging at work / Ruchika Tulshyan ; foreword by Ijeoma Oluo
HF5549.5.M5 T85 2022
Hardin Valley

The business writer's handbook: 2020 APA update / Gerald J. Alred, Charles T. Brusaw, Walter E. Oliu
HF5726 .A388 2020
Hardin Valley

J.K. Lasser's your income tax 2023: for preparing your 2022 tax return / prepared by the J.K. Lasser Institute
HJ4652 .J2 2023
Hardin Valley

Care and capitalism: why affective equality matters for social justice / Kathleen Lynch
HM671 .L96 2022
Hardin Valley

The social structure of online communities / William Sims Bainbridge
HM742 .B35 2020
Hardin Valley

The twittering machine / Richard Seymour
HM742 .S49 2020
Hardin Valley

Waste: a new media primer / Roberto Simanowski ; translated by Amanda DeMarco and Susan H. Gillespie
HM742 .S5739 2018
Hardin Valley

Engaging Appalachia: a guidebook for building capacity and sustainability / edited by Rebecca Adkins Fletcher, Rebecca-Eli Long, and William R. Schumann
HN49.C6 E5465 2023
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Y'all means all: the emerging voices queering Appalachia / edited by Z. Zane McNeill
HQ73.3.U62 Y22 2022
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Gen Z, explained: the art of living in a digital age / Roberta Katz, Sarah Ogilvie, Jane Shaw & Linda Woodhead
HQ799.5 .K37 2022
Hardin Valley

Fight: how Gen Z is channeling their fear and passion to save America / John Della Volpe ; foreword by David Hogg
HQ799.9.P6 D45 2022
Hardin Valley

Trans: when ideology meets reality / Helen Joyce
HQ1075 .J69 2022
Hardin Valley

Accessible America: a history of disability and design / Bess Williamson
HV1553 .W55 2020
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Unmasking autism: discovering the new faces of neurodiversity / Devon Price
HV1570.25.G57 P75 2022
Hardin Valley

The ethics of policing: new perspectives on law enforcement / edited by Ben Jones and Eduardo Mendieta
HV7924 .E868 2021
Hardin Valley

Duped: why innocent people confess and why we believe their confessions / Saul Kassin
HV8073.3 .K37 2022
Hardin Valley

Latinas in the criminal justice system: victims, targets, and offenders / edited by Vera Lopez and Lisa Pasko
HV9950 .L37 2021
Hardin Valley

Contemporary criminal justice careers: a comprehensive guide / Matthew J. Sheridan, Thomas J. Lalka
HV9950 .S545 2022
Hardin Valley

J: POLITICAL SCIENCE

The Right: the hundred-year war for American conservatism / Matthew Continetti
JC573.2.U6 C6537 2022
Hardin Valley

"Let us vote!": youth voting rights and the 26th amendment / Jennifer Frost
JF831 .F76 2021
Hardin Valley

K: LAW

The most human right: why free speech is everything / Eric Heinze
K3254 .H45 2022
Hardin Valley

L: EDUCATION

The great upheaval: higher education's past, present, and uncertain future / Arthur Levine and Scott Van Pelt
LB2322.2 .L49 2021
Hardin Valley

Safe enough spaces: a pragmatist's approach to inclusion, free speech, and political correctness on college campuses / Michael S. Roth
LB2324 .R67 2021
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Classroom management: strategies for achievement, cooperation + engagement / Nancy Steineke
LB3013 .S6594 2020
Hardin Valley

The psychology of school bullying / Peter K. Smith
LB3013.3 .S575 2019
Hardin Valley

The teacher's guide to resolving school bullying: evidence-based strategies and pupil-led interventions / Elizabeth Nassem
LB3013.34.G7 N37 2020
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Student agency in the classroom: honoring student voice in the curriculum / Margaret Vaughn ; foreword by Anne Haas Dyson
LB3092 .W384 2021
Hardin Valley

M: MUSIC

Speed bumps on a dirt road: when old time music met bluegrass / [photographs by] John Cohen ; foreword by Alice Gerrard ; afterword by Marty Stuart
ML3520 .C64 2019
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

How to make it in the new music business: practical tips on building a loyal following and making a living as a musician / Ari Herstand
ML3795 .H5 2023
Hardin Valley

N: FINE ART, ARCHITECTURE, DESIGN

Children draw: a guide to why, when and how children make art / Marilyn JS Goodman
N352 .G66 2021
Hardin Valley

The life, art, and times of Joseph Delaney, 1904-1991 / Frederick C. Moffatt
N6537.D437 M64 2009
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Art/work: everything you need to know (and do) as you pursue your art career / Heather Darcy Bhandari, Jonathan Melber
N8350 .B47 2017
Hardin Valley

Art, Inc.: the essential guide for building your career as an artist / Lisa Congdon ; edited by Meg Mateo Ilasco ; foreword by Jonathan Fields
N8350 .C58 2014
Hardin Valley

How to become a successful artist / Magnus Resch
N8350 .R47 2021
Hardin Valley

Basics of drawing: the ultimate guide for beginners / Leonardo Pereznieto
NC730 .P474 2020
Hardin Valley

How to draw people: step-by-step lessons for figures and poses / Jeff Mellem
NC765 .M45 2018
Hardin Valley

Amazing grace: a life of Beauford Delaney / David Leeming
ND237.D335 L44 1998
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

P: LANGUAGE & LITERATURE

Not exactly lying: fake news and fake journalism in American history / Andie Tucher
PN4888.F35 T83 2022
Hardin Valley

Project Censored's state of the free press, 2023: the top censored stories and media analysis of 2021-22 / edited by Mickey Huff and Andy Lee Roth with Project Censored ; foreword by Heidi Boghosian ; illustrated by Anson Stevens-Bollen
PN4888.O25 P76 2022
Hardin Valley

Graphic memories of the civil rights movement: reframing history in comics / Jorge J. Santos, Jr.
PN6714 .S26 2019
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

The superhero symbol: media, culture, and politics / edited by Liam Burke, Ian Gordon, and Angela Ndalianis
PN6714 .S83 2020
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Comics and the origins of manga: a revisionist history / Eike Exner
PN6790.J3 E96 2022
Hardin Valley

Shakespeare's binding language / John Kerrigan
PR3072 .K475 2018
Strawberry Plains

One hundred years of Appalachian visions, 1897-1996 / compiled by Bill Best
PS554 .O66 1997
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

The best American short stories 2022 / selected from U.S. and Canadian magazines by Andrew Sean Greer with Heidi Pitlor ; with an introduction by Andrew Sean Greer
PS659.2 .B475 2022
Hardin Valley

From my highest hill: Carolina mountain folks / Olive Tilford Dargan ; photographs by Bayard Wootten ; with an introduction by Anna Shannon Elfenbein and an afterword by Jonathan Morrow
PS3507.A6 F76 1998
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Lark ascending: a novel / by Silas House
PS3558.O8659 L37 2022
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Looking for Sheville / by Matty McEire
PS3613.C3879 L66 2011
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

The listening skin / Glenis Redmond
PS3618.E4347 L56 2022
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Resurrecting the bones: born from a journey through African American churches & cemeteries in the rural South: poems / Jacinta V. White
PS3623.H5758 R47 2019
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Q: SCIENCE

Navigating the cybersecurity career path / Helen E. Patton
QA76.9.A25 P38 2022
Hardin Valley

Ten great ideas about chance / Persi Diaconis, Brian Skyrms
QA273.A4 D53 2018
Hardin Valley

Calculus: a complete introduction / P. Abbott & Hugh Neill
QA303.2 .A28 2018
Hardin Valley

Barron's painless calculus / Christina Pawlowski
QA303.2 .P388 2021
Hardin Valley

Calculus essentials for dummies / by Mark Ryan
QA303.2 .R858 2019
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

The climate demon: past, present, and future of climate prediction / R. Saravanan
QC995.46 .S27 2022
Hardin Valley

R: MEDICINE

Ethics in health administration: a practical approach for decision makers / Eileen E. Morrison
RA394 .M67 2020
Hardin Valley

Textbook for transcultural health care: a population approach: cultural competence concepts in nursing care / Larry D. Purnell, Eric A. Fenkl, editors
RA418.5.T73 T49 2021
Strawberry Plains
also available as an eBook

Boundaries of care: community health workers in the United States / Ryan I. Logan
RA445 .L64 2022
Hardin Valley

The burnout epidemic: the rise of chronic stress and how we can fix it / Jennifer Moss
RA785 .M686 2021
Hardin Valley

Losing our minds: the challenge of defining mental illness / Lucy Foulkes
RC437.5 .F685 2022
Hardin Valley

The urge: our history of addiction / Carl Erik Fisher
RC438.6.F57 A3 2023
Hardin Valley

Digging our own graves: coal miners & the struggle over black lung disease / Barbara Ellen Smith ; with photographs by Earl Dotter
RC773 .S55 2020
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

Davis's drug guide for nurses / April Hazard Vallerand, Cynthia A. Sanoski
RM301.12 .V35 2023
Magnolia Avenue
also available as an eBook

S: AGRICULTURE

Storey's guide to raising horses: breeding, care, facilities / Heather Smith Thomas
SF285.3 .T496 2020
Hardin Valley

T: TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, PHOTOGRAPHY, HOME ECONOMICS

Thicker than water: the quest for solutions to the plastic crisis / Erica Cirino
TD798 .C57 2021
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

Building construction costs with RSMeans data, 2023 / Matthew Doheny, senior editor
TH435 .B84 2022
Hardin Valley

Turn on the words!: deaf audiences, captions, and the long struggle for access / Harry G. Lang
TR886.9 .L34 2021
Hardin Valley
also available as an eBook

User friendly: how the hidden rules of design are changing the way we live, work, and play / Cliff Kuang with Robert Fabricant
TS171.4 .K83 2020
Hardin Valley

Appalachia on the table: representing mountain food and people / Erica Abrams Locklear
TX715.2.S68 L67 2023
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains
also available as an eBook

Butter beans to blackberries: recipes from the southern garden / Ronni Lundy
TX715.2.S68 L8497 1999
Appalachian Collection at Strawberry Plains

U & V: MILITARY SCIENCE

Mission transition: navigating the opportunities and obstacles to your post-military career / Matthew J. Louis
UB357 .L59 2019
Hardin Valley

Z: PUBLISHING, LIBRARIES, INFORMATION SCIENCE

Disinformation: the nature of facts and lies in the post-truth era / Donald A. Barclay
ZA3073 .B37 2022
Hardin Valley