PSCC Libraries: Copyright for Instructors: Library & Web Resources

Library & Web Resources

Search the libraries' collections. When looking for copyright information, limit the creation date to the last 5 years.

Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators
Publication Date: 2020
Learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with "key points" sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; understand fair use, with fresh interpretations of its many gray areas that will aid decision making; learn the current state of Creative Commons, classroom use and distance education, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, etc.
Coaching Copyright
Publication Date: 2019
Helps you become a copyright coach by showing you how to discern the most important issues in a situation, determine which questions you need to ask, and give a response that is targeted to the specific need.

Permissions Guide For Educators
Supports curriculum developers--including educators, curriculum experts, librarians, and others--in determining the legal ways that they can use digital resources created by others in their own lessons and collections. Serves as a primer on how to seek permission to use resources that are currently under copyright. It includes considerations around whether to ask for permission, as well as resources to aid in conversations and negotiations with rights holders.

When looking for copyright information, limit the publication date to the last 5 years.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, magazines, ebooks, and reference articles 1980 to present. Includes images, videos, and podcasts.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of news, magazines, company profiles, market reports, SEC filings, country information, biographies, and legal cases. Includes Shepard's Supreme Court citation service, tax materials, and patents.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, magazines, ebooks, biographies, and conference materials 1960s to present.

Copyright Law of the United States
Comprehensive and updated regularly, this is the online version of US copyright law. Available in HTML & PDF formats.

Copyright & Fair Use
Thorough treatment of the fair use issue from Stanford University.
Columbia University Copyright Basics
Includes the basics of copyright, a quick guide, fair use, fair use checklist, permissions and licensing, and special cases.
Cornell University Copyright Services
Includes copyright 101, licenses and open access, using copyrighted materials (fair use, seeking permission, using recorded music on the Web, and TEACH Act), copyright term and public domain, IP rights and privacy, and resources.
Campus Guide To Copyright Compliance
Short video from the Copyright Clearance Center on educational uses of copyrighted materials.

Coursera: Copyright for Educators & Librarians
This course provides a basic introduction to US copyright law and empowers teachers and librarians at all grade levels. Course participants will discover that the law is designed to help educators and librarians.
Introduction to Copyright Law
Open online course from MIT. It includes readings, assignments, and four 2-hour video lectures.
Copyright 101
3 module tutorial on understanding copyright from BYU (ca. 30 min).

Copyright Search
Search copyright information at the Library of Congress.
Lumen Database
Collects and analyzes legal complaints and requests for removal of online materials, helping users know their rights and understand the law. These data enable us to study the prevalence of legal threats and let Internet users see the source of content removals.
Copyright Clearance Center
Largest licenser of photocopy reproduction rights in the world to facilitate compliance with US copyright law.