United States History: Web Resources

The Library of Congress has migrated most of the American Memory collections to new presentations. Multimedia collections of digitized documents, photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and text from the Library's Americana collections.

Duke University presents a collection of 410 oral history interviews, chronicling African American life in the American South from the 1890's to the 1950's.

Provides access to resources that bring together digital media and historical scholarship to promote an understanding of the past and a broad historical literacy.

Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). NDNP, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and the Library of Congress (LC), is a long-term effort to develop an Internet-based, searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages. Supported by NEH, this rich digital resource will be developed and permanently maintained at the Library of Congress. An NEH award program will fund the contribution of content from, eventually, all U.S. states and territories.

DAS is a collection of sources on Southern history, literature and culture from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. It is organized into: First-Person Narratives of the American South, Library of Southern Literature, North American Slave Narratives, The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865, The Church in the Southern Black Community, The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940, North Carolinians and the Great War.

OER from Northeast State Community College

Collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts created to serve the needs of teachers and students in college survey courses in modern Western Civilization and American History.

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the ante-bellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.