PSCC Libraries: United States History: Books

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

865.981.5326

Subjects: Education, History & Politics

Look for these Icons!

Keep an eye out for these icons when you're looking for Western Civilization resources in the library and on our website

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C - Archaology, Biography
D - World History
E - US History
F - History of the Americas
G - Geography, Anthropology
U - Military Science
V - Naval Science
Library Icons
For more information, including a complete list of our library icons and the subjects they represent

Books

Call Numbers

E - America (General), United States
F1-975 United States Local History

US History in Catalog
Search the library's catalog for books in both print and electronic formats.
Books with a location of "PSCC Stacks, Second Floor" are shelved by call number in the second floor library areas in the ERC building. Books located at another PSCC campus are shelved in the ERC at that campus. Pellissippi State students, faculty, and staff may use OneSearch to request a book from another PSCC Campus location.
Use the "Online access" link in the citation to access books in electronic format. You will be prompted to enter your Pellissippi State username and password in order to access electronic books from off campus.

Outline of U. S. History by George Clack (Editor); Mildred Sola Neely (Editor); Alonzo Hamby (Editor)
ISBN: 9781604564952
Publication Date: 2009
This new edition has been completely revised and updated by Alonzo L. Hamby, Distinguished Professor of History at Ohio University. Professor Hamby has written extensively on American politics and society.
American Decades by Richard Layman, Ed.
Call Number: Ref. E169.12 .A419 1994
ISBN: 0810357275
Publication Date: 1994
This reference book documents and analyzes periods of contemporary American social history such as the roaring twenties, the depression years, World War II, and the 60s. There are 10 volumes altogether and each includes: a chronology of the decade; subject chapters with background essays; subject-specific chronologies and alphabetically arranged items depicting the people, ideas, and facts important during that period.
American Decades Primary Sources by Cynthia Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003
A collection of more than 2,000 primary sources from 20th century American history and culture covering the most important events, people, and issues. Each volume of this set summarizes a decade of American development, events, and people of note; covers 1900 thru 2009. Provides insight into the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from the decade. Also available as an eBook.
Documents of American History by Henry Steele Commager; Milton Cantor
Call Number: Ref. E173 .D59 1988
ISBN: 0132172747
Publication Date: 1988
Offers complete text of significant documents from 14192 through reports of Congressional Committees investigating Iran-Contra, Nov. 13, 1987. Also available as an eBook.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Credo is a vast, online reference library, providing access to the full text of hundreds of reference books. It includes images, sound files, animations, videos. Credo Reference contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus subject-specific titles covering everything from accounting to zoology, via maps, math, management, martial arts, media studies, medicine, mountains, moons, music, multimedia, mythology.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Disciplines included are arts, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, religion, sciences, and social sciences. Search all reference sources at once or individually.

eBook Tutorial

How to Read an eBook

eBooks are an excellent way to find background and overview information for research. Learn how to divide and conquer eBook sections and how to search for information within an eBook, in the following tutorial.