PSCC Libraries: Early Childhood Education: Research ECED Topics

Research ECED Topics

Start your search with Educator's Reference Complete, and then check out ERIC and Education Full-Text. Type in keywords and allow it to autofill suggestions. Search tips:

Use singular keywords (ex. child not children)
In different searches, try synonyms (ex. young child, infant, toddler, etc.)
Be sure to use current information, so limit the publication date to the last 5 years

Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, interviews, magazines, ebooks, news, biographies of educators and writers, updated daily. Includes images, video, audio, and podcasts.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, lesson plans, reference materials, reports, dissertations, and ebooks 1966 to present, updated twice weekly.
Education Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, ebooks, magazines, biographies of educators 1983 to present. Includes images and maps.

Search the Web

On Google, search your keywords and site:org, site:gov, or site:edu

ex. Bilingual early childhood education Germany site:edu

Find Statistics

Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
Statistics of the US 1878 to present.
Kids Count Data Center This link opens in a new window
Statistics for children on a national to congressional district scale 2000 to present. Includes demographics, financial well-being, education, family & community, health & safety, age, immigration factors, and race & ethnicity.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
A division of the Department of Education that publishes a number of statistical resources.

You can also use Google to find statistics from the government or organizations. Type in your keywords, "statistics," and "site:gov" or "site:org"

ex. children with disabilities statistics site:gov

To find statistics in Tennessee, just add "Tennessee" to the previous Google search

ex. children with disabilities Tennessee statistics site:gov