Books & eBooks
Most Useful For
- Finding in-depth information about a topic
Points to Consider
- Information in books is usually 2-4 years old, because it takes a long time to write and publish a book.
- Check the publication date to make sure the information is not outdated.
- Read the author's background information & credentials. Is the author qualified to write on this topic? Is there any potential bias the author may have?
How to Search For Books
- Use OneSearch to find books, ebooks, e-audiobooks, and more.
- Follow the link in the ebook's record to access the resource. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Pellissippi username and password.
Reference Books
Includes
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
- Almanacs
- Atlases & Gazetteers
- Indexes & Bibliographies
Most Useful For
- Encyclopedias - brief introductory or background information about a topic
- Dictionaries - information about words, including definitions, word history, usage, etc.
- Almanacs - statistical data, often organized into charts, tables, and lists
- Atlases & Gazetteers - maps, charts, population data, and other geographical information
- Indexes & Bibliographies - organized lists of resources that contain information about a topic
Points to Consider
- Most reference resources are either general (ex. Encyclopaedia Britannica) or specific to a particular subject (ex. Encyclopedia of Forensic Science).
How to Search for Reference Books
- Use OneSearch to find print and electronic reference books.
