PSCC Libraries: Political Science: Web Resources

Web Resources

Selected Web Sites
Additional Sites

American National Election Studies
To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. (from site's homepage)
American Political Science Association
Website of the American Political Science Association
Ballot Measures Database
Includes statewide ballot measures by topic
Campaigns and Elections
The Campaigns and Elections' website. Campaigns and Elections is a journal focused on topics related to political consulting.
Center for American Women and Politics
From Rutgers University. Includes fact sheets on women in politics, analyses of how women candidates did in recent elections, and information about such topics as the impact of term limits on women officeholders. (description from https://www.loc.gov/teachers/additionalresources/relatedresources/gov/polisci.html)
Center for Information and Research in Civic Learning and Engagement
This center at Tufts University presents research on civic learning and civic participation among young people. (description from https://www.loc.gov/teachers/additionalresources/relatedresources/gov/polisci.html)
data.world politics datasets
Provides access to datasets about politics (as well as other topics: education, poverty, national security, housing, mental health, and terrorism, etc.). Many of the data sets available on the site are free (and can be used under creative commons) but require one make a (free) account to access.
Digital Schomburg
From the New York Public Library. This source includes images, full-length books and articles, manuscripts, maps, and essays by renowned scholars.
FactCheck.org
Nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. They monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players. From the University of Pennsylvania.
Human Rights Library
From the University of Minnesota's Human Rights Center. Includes 65,000 documents, treaties, and instruments related to human rights. Also provides 4,000-plus links to relevant external sites. Site is available in many languages.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
PolitiFact
From the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly. Features analysis of candidates and elected officials' public statements and determines whether their claims are accurate.
Project Vote Smart
Includes biographies, voting history, political positions, public statements, and campaign finance data on 40.000+ public officials.
Stateline
Stateline focuses on four topics that are key to state policy: fiscal and economic issues, health care, demographics, and the business of government.
U.S. GAO Reports and Testimonies
Features reports from U.S. Government accountability office on various topics.
USAFacts
Non profit private entity that collects and organizes data from federal, state, and local government sources.
Who Rules America? Power, Politics, & Social Change
Includes essays, graphs, and links to resources on the topic of power distribution.
Worldwide Governance Indicators
Provides data and statistics related to governance for countries across the globe.
From the World Bank, the Brookings Institution, and other various think tanks, survey institutes, etc..
YaleGlobal Online
Resources from Yale University, scholars from other universities, and public & private sector experts.

School of Data
The School of Data aims "to empower civil society organizations (CSOs), journalists, governments and citizens with the skills they need to use data effectively in their efforts to create better, more equitable and more sustainable societies." (from site's Who We Are page). The School of Data website offers courses, guides data expeditions, and maintains a blog of news events that focus on teaching the above groups skills required in acquiring, interpreting, and presenting data. Knowledge of statistics and code-writing ability are not necessary, although may learn some of both in the process of participating. Creative Commons license allows the use, reuse, and distribution of training approaches and course materials. (paraphrased from Abbott, R.L. "School of Data." CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Aug. 2015: 2000. Academic OneFile. Web. 28 Mar. 2016.)

How to determine website credibility

Five Criteria For Evaluating Web Pages
From Cornell University Library
Evaluating Sources
Basic principles for evaluating resources from Duke University.