Branded by
This book is an excellent resource that examines significant brands and the points of interest associated with their successes (and sometimes failures). Brands in this work span sport, recreation, and beyond, and each chapter sheds light on actions that have utilized sport business to cultivate brand equity. The importance of branding has generated great interest in academic and professional circles. Brands range from images that represent products to a variety of symbols associated with products. The producers and consumers of these products build associations and affinities to these brands. The brands profiled are examples of successful (and sometimes not so successful) products, and this book's impressive accumulation of information concerning the companies, people, places, goods, and services provides points for discussion and further examination. Branded can serve as a stand-alone text or as a supplement in a variety of academic settings. To further enhance the information provided in this work, each chapter includes the following sections: The Line-Up -- gives an overview of the company and the cases being addressed; Timeline -- identifies relevant historical events and provides points of reference for significant points in the brands' history; The Final Score -- critically examines industry perspectives and implications regarding the profiled brands; Post-Game Comments -- identifies key concepts; and Discussion Questions -- offers opportunity for further theoretical explorations and would be useful for facilitating class discussions. Additionally, web-based resources, tables, side boxes, and figures are provided as further background information for the brands being profiled. A glossy, 16-page section of photographs enhances the text. "Recommended. Lower- and upper-division undergraduates; technical students; general readers." -- CHOICE Magazine "For those looking for a broad range of great branding examples in sports, look no further. . . . From a teaching standpoint, Branded's introduction starts off strongly and provides a good basis for readers of all levels to know what branding is and what it is for. . . . It will not fail to leave its mark." -- Journal of Product & Brand Management
The Grand OLE Opry Songbook by
(Piano/Vocal/Guitar Songbook). 80 songs from 80 years of country music are featured in this collection, including: Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy (Red Foley) * Coal Miner's Daughter (Loretta Lynn) * Forever and Ever, Amen (Randy Travis) * Green Green Grass of Home (Porter Wagoner) * I Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool (Barbara Mandrell) * Tennessee Waltz (Pee Wee King & His Golden West Cowboys) * When You Say Nothing at All (Alison Krauss) * and more. Includes black-and-white photos and articles about the Opry.
How We Talked and Common Folks by
Two of Verna Mae Slone's most beloved books--How We Talked and Common Folks--are now available in a single edition. How We Talked is a timeless piece of literature, a free-form combination of glossary and memoir that uses native expressions to depict everyday life in Caney Creek, Kentucky. In addition to phrases and their meanings, the book contains sections on the customs and wisdom of Slone's community, a collection of children's rhymes, and stories and superstitions unique to Appalachia. More than just a dictionary, How We Talked is a rich compendium of life "on Caney," offering an understanding of the culture through the distinctive speech of its people. Originally published in 1979, Common Folks documents Slone's way of life in Pippa Passes, Kentucky, and expands on such diverse topics as family pets, coal mining, education, and marriage. Slone's firsthand account of this unique heritage draws readers into her hill-circled community and allows them to experience a lifestyle that is nearly forgotten. Whether she is writing about traditional Appalachian customs like folk medicine or about universal aspects of life such as a mother's yearning for the little girl she never had, Slone's instinctive sense of what matters most makes Common Folks a compelling meditation on a legacy worth remembering. Published together for the first time, How We Talked and Common Folks celebrate the spirit of an acclaimed Appalachian writer.
Minstrel of the Appalachians by
It is said that Bascom Lamar Lunsford would "cross hell on a rotten rail to get a folk song"--his Southern highlands folk-song compilations now constitute one of the largest collections of its kind in the Library of Congress--but he did much more than acquire songs. He preserved and promoted the Appalachian mountain tradition for generations of people, founding in 1928 the Mountain Dance and Folk Festival in Asheville, North Carolina, an annual event that has shaped America's festival movement. Loyal Jones pens a lively biography of a man considered to be Appalachian music royalty. He also includes a "Lunsford Sampler" of ballads, songs, hymns, tales, and anecdotes, plus a discography of his recordings.
Moonshine by
Nothing but clear, 100-proof American history. Hooch. White lightning. White whiskey. Mountain dew. Moonshine goes by many names. So what is it, really? Technically speaking, "moonshine" refers to untaxed liquor made in an unlicensed still. In the United States, it's typically corn that's used to make the clear, unaged beverage, and it's the mountain people of the American South who are most closely associated with the image of making and selling backwoods booze at night--by the light of the moon--to avoid detection by law enforcement. In this book, writer Jaime Joyce explores America's centuries-old relationship with moonshine. From the country's early adoption of Scottish and Irish home-distilling techniques and traditions to the Whiskey Rebellion of the late 1700s to a comparison of the moonshine industry pre- and post-Prohibition and a look at modern-day craft distilling, Joyce examines the historical context that gave rise to moonshining in America and explores its continued appeal. Even more fascinating than the popularity of the liquor itself is moonshine's widespread effect on U.S. pop culture: moonshine runners were NASCAR's first marquee drivers; white whiskey was the unspoken star of countless Hollywood film and television productions; and numerous songs inspired by making shine have come from such musicians as Dolly Parton, Steve Earle, Metallica, Ween, and others. While we can't condone making your own illegal liquor, reading Moonshine will give you a new perspective on the profound implications that underground moonshine making has had on life in America.
The Terra Incognita Reader by
This reader is an essential companion to Terra Incognita: An Annotated Biography of the Great Smoky Mountains, 1544-1934 and represents a significant contribution to scholarship on the Smokies and the region at large. Anne Bridges, Ken Wise, and Russell Clement have selected some of the best pieces from a rich repository of literature written about the Smokies prior to the establishment of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in 1934. Based on years of research, the diaries, memoirs, literature, and journalism collected here shed light on various historical and cultural aspects of the Great Smokies, from Smoky Mountain folkways and religion, to the Civil War era and the Cherokee Indians. All together, the writings pay tribute to the diverse inhabitants of the Great Smoky Mountains. Each section gathers writings under a single topic heading and progresses chronologically. The readings can thus be taken to document the slow progression of change up until the eve of the large-scale disruptions that would be wrought by the establishment of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in 1934. This reader represents a significant contribution to scholarship on the Smokies and the region at large.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowUse these subject headings to browse the collection:
