Biology Research Project: 2. Annotated Bibliography

Annotated Bibliography Assignment

Evaluate your sources and write an annotated bibliography that would answer your research question. Use APA format. Write in an academic tone and use correct spelling, grammar, and punctuation.

Get the Full Text

1. Go to your email where you sent your sources from the first assignment.
2. Follow the link to the record, and click on the green Full Text Available link.
3. Click on any of the database links.
4. In the database, if you don’t immediately see the full text, look for a PDF or Full Text link.
5. If it is a book, click on Read Online or a chapter title link.
   • On the left, use Search Within to find your smaller topic in the text.

Evaluate Sources

Credible (1 + 2), Scholarly (1 + 2 + 3)

1. Is the author a subject expert (has at least a Master’s degree)?
   • If it is not at the top, bottom, or end the of the article, Google the author’s name in quotes and institution or field (ex. “Sergio Romo” Harvard).
2. Is the topic in the author’s field of study?
3. Is it written for other experts?
   • Many citations, academic format (ex. APA), subject-specific vocabulary, author qualifications (ex. PhD)

Read Sources

1. For articles, first read the abstract (first paragraph) and then the conclusion or discussion (last section before the references).
2. For books, first read the paragraph that includes your smaller topic.
3. Select sources that address different aspects of your research question.
4. If you will include it, read the article or chapter fully and take notes for your annotation.

Download the APA Bibliography Template

1. Download the APA Bibliography Template below.
2. Type your research question into the Title spot.

Cite Your Service Learning

APA does not have guidelines on citing experiences, but in this assignment, we will treat it like a source. Therefore, cite it based on this example:

Your last name, Your first initial. (Year). Nonprofit Organization [Service Learning]. City, State.

Williams, K. (2021). Habitat for Humanity [Service Learning]. Knoxville, TN.

Get the APA Citations

1. Go to your email that has your articles and books.
2. For your 2-3 selected articles, click on the link to see its record on OneSearch.
3. Click on the Citation button and the APA (6th edition) link.
4. Copy the citation to clipboard.
5. Paste it into the APA Bibliography Template where citations appear.
   • Citations should be alphabetical by the first word of the citation (usually author’s last name).
6. Check that your APA Citations are correct with the PSCC Libraries’ APA Guide below.

Write the Annotation

In 5-7 sentences, summarize the main points of the source. Focus on how it helps answer your research question.