Includes:
- Accounting (ACCT)
- Advertising (ADV)
- Administration Professional (ADMN)
- Business Administration (BUSN)
- Computer Information Technology (CITC)/(CSIT)
- Computer Science (CISP)
- Culinary Arts (CULA)
- Economics (ECON)
- Hospitality (HSP)
- Paralegel Studies(LEGL)
ADMN 1306: Medical Terminology
The Language of Medicine, 11th edition / by Davi-Ellen ChabnerISBN: 9780323370813
Bring medical terminology to life with The Language of Medicine, 11th Edition! An illustrated, easy-to-understand approach presents medical terms within the context of the body's anatomy and physiology, and in health and disease. With this proven resource, you'll learn a working medical vocabulary built on the most frequently encountered prefixes, suffixes, and combining forms.
ADMN 2311: ICD-PCS Coding
ADMN 2313: Health Insurance Survey
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th edition / by Marilyn Takahashi FordneyISBN: 9781455733255
A complete guide to insurance billing and coding, Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th Edition covers all the plans most commonly encountered in clinics and physicians' offices. Its emphasis on the role of the medical insurance specialist includes areas such as diagnostic coding, procedural coding, Medicare, HIPAA, and bill collection strategies.
Workbook for Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th edition / by Marilyn Takahashi FordneyISBN: 9781455748112
Gain real-world practice in insurance billing and coding! Corresponding to the chapters in Fordney's Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th Edition, this workbook provides realistic, hands-on exercises that help you apply concepts and develop critical thinking skills. Study tools include chapter overviews, key terms, chapter review exercises, and case study assignments.
Business Supplemental Material
BUSN 1380: Supervisory Management
CISP 1010: Computer Science 1
9th edition is available for a veteran to take home, however, the 10th edition is available in the Hardin Valley Reserve Room for in-library use only.
Problem Solving with C++, 9th edition / by Walter SavitchISBN: 9780133591743
Problem Solving with C++ continues to be the most widely used textbook by students and instructors in the introduction to programming and C++ language course. Created for the beginner, this book focuses on cultivating strong problem-solving and programming techniques while introducing students to the C++ programming language.
CISP 1020: Computer Science 2
This title can also be found in the Hardin Valley Reserve Room for in-library use only.
CISP 2410: Assembly & Computer Organization
2nd custom edition is available for a veteran to take home, however, the 5th edition is available in the Hardin Valley Reserve Room for in-library use only.
CITC 1110/1111/1310/1311: Programming 1 and 2, and accompanying Labs
CITC 2335: Systems Analysis & Design
Modern Systems Analysis and Design, 8th edition / by Joseph Valacich; Joey GeorgeISBN: 9780134204925
Covers concepts, skills, and techniques essential for systems analysts to successfully develop information systems. This edition examines the role, responsibilities, and mindset of systems analysts and project managers. It also looks at the methods and principles of systems development. Valuing the practical over the technical, this text prepares readers to become effective systems analysts in the field.
ECON 2100: Principles of Macroeconomics
ECON 2200: Principles of Microeconomics
INFS 1010: Computer Applications
Includes:
- Audio Production Engineering (APE)
- Civil and Construction Engineering (CIVT)
- Electrical Engineering (ECE)
- Electrical Engineering Technology (EETC)
- Engineering Science (ENS)
- Engineering Systems Technology (ENST)
CIVT 1250: Materials & Methods of Construction
Exercises in Building Construction, 6th edition / by Edward Allen; Joseph IanoISBN: 9781118653289
Exercises in Building Construction, Sixth Edition, offers students a hands-on way to apply material learned in the core book by featuring: Forty-six real world construction problems; clear instructions for each exercise; informative, concise illustrations; and ample space to work out answers.
CIVT 2100: Construction Cost Estimating
Fundamentals of Construction Estimating, 3rd edition / by David PrattISBN: 1439059640
Presents estimating procedures in a clear and precise manner explaining all the procedures of estimating the cost of construction work such as quantity takeoff, pricing of the contractor's work, pricing sub-trade work, pricing site overhead and compiling bid documents.
CIVT 2550: Advanced Surveying
Surveying, 5th edition / by Jack C. McCormacISBN: 0471237582
Provides comprehensive coverage of the essential skills necessary in surveying and civil engineering. It covers measurements, distance corrections, leveling, angles, area computation, computer calculations, topographic surveying, electronic distance measuring instruments, and construction surveying.
EETC 1313: DC Circuits and EETC 1314: AC Circuits
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 5th edition / by Allan H. Robbins; Wilhelm C. MillerISBN: 9781133937692
Provides an introduction to the theory, design, and analysis of electrical circuits. Covers direct and alternating current, capacitance, inductance, magnetism, simple transients, transformers, Fourier series, methods of analysis and more. Conceptual material is supported by illustrations and diagrams, as well as step-by-step examples, exercises and hands-on activities.
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 4th edition / by Allan H. Robbins; Wilhelm MillerISBN: 9781418038618
Provides an introduction to the theory, design, and analysis of electrical circuits. Covers direct and alternating current, capacitance, inductance, magnetism, simple transients, transformers, Fourier series, methods of analysis and more. Conceptual material is supported by illustrations and diagrams, as well as step-by-step examples, exercises and hands-on activities.
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 3rd edition / by Allan Robbins; Wilhelm MillerISBN: 9781401811563
Provides an introduction to the theory, design, and analysis of electrical circuits. Covers direct and alternating current, capacitance, inductance, magnetism, simple transients, transformers, Fourier series, methods of analysis and more. Conceptual material is supported by illustrations and diagrams, as well as step-by-step examples, exercises and hands-on activities.
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 2nd edition / by Judd Robbins; Alan R. MillerISBN: 9780766806269
Provides an introduction to the theory, design, and analysis of electrical circuits. Covers direct and alternating current, capacitance, inductance, magnetism, simple transients, transformers, Fourier series, methods of analysis and more. Conceptual material is supported by illustrations and diagrams, as well as step-by-step examples, exercises and hands-on activities.
EETC 1321/1322: Electronics 1 and 2
Fundamentals of Linear Electronics, 2nd edition / by James F. CoxISBN: 0766830187
Keeping pace with the electronics industry, this edition now features reduced coverage of discrete circuitry to allow readers more time to focus on integrated circuits. The first section introduces the building blocks; The second section progresses logically into an exploration of the circuitry used to construct electronics systems.
EETC 1331: Digital Fundamentals
Digital Fundamentals with PLD Programming / by Thomas L. FloydISBN: 9780131701885
This book provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of digital fundamentals-from basic concepts to microprocessors, programmable logic, and digital signal processing. Floyd's acclaimed emphasis on applications using real devices and on troubleshooting gives users the problem-solving experience they'll need in their professional careers.
ENST 1311: CAD I w/SolidWorks
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2017 / by Paul Schilling; Randy ShihISBN: 9781630570668
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2017 contains a series of seventeen tutorial style lessons designed to introduce SOLIDWORKS 2017, solid modeling and parametric modeling techniques and concepts. This book introduces SOLIDWORKS 2017 on a step-by-step basis, starting with constructing basic shapes, all the way through to the creation of assembly drawings and motion analysis.
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2016 / by Paul Schilling; Randy ShihISBN: 9781585039982
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2016 contains a series of sixteen tutorial style lessons designed to introduce SOLIDWORKS 2016, solid modeling and parametric modeling techniques and concepts. This book introduces SOLIDWORKS 2016 on a step-by-step basis, starting with constructing basic shapes, all the way through to the creation of assembly drawings and motion analysis.
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2015 / by Randy Shih; Paul SchillingISBN: 9781585039210
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2015 contains a series of sixteen tutorial style lessons designed to introduce SOLIDWORKS 2015, solid modeling and parametric modeling techniques and concepts. This book introduces SOLIDWORKS 2015 on a step-by-step basis, starting with constructing basic shapes, all the way through to the creation of assembly drawings and motion analysis.
ENST 1362: Industrial Printreading
Print Reading for Industry, 10th edition / by Walter C. Brown; Ryan K. BrownISBN: 9781631260513
This text starts with the basics of print reading and progresses to advanced topics. It presents a thorough discussion of print reading techniques, providing the necessary information and guidance to read the "language of industry." Print Reading for Industry includes authentic industrial prints for hands-on learning. Bonus print reading exercises related to the oversized prints in the Large Prints Packet provide additional real-life print reading experiences.
ENST 1370: Manufacturing Processes
ENST 1371: Composite Materials & Structures
ENST 1372: 3-D Additive Manufacturing
Understanding Additive Manufacturing, 1st edition / by Andreas GebhardtISBN: 9781569905074
Additive Manufacturing (AM) is the term used for layer-oriented or generative manufacturing. Within the last 20 years, it has developed dramatically. Today it is not only a valuable tool for making models and prototypes but also a manufacturing method for final parts as well as for mold inserts. It spreads throughout all disciplines and branches of industry, from art to medicine and from car manufacturing to aerospace engineering.
COLL 1500: College Success
Mister Pip / by Lloyd JonesISBN: 9780385341073
On a tropical island shattered by war, where the teachers have fled with most everyone else, only one white man chooses to stay behind: the eccentric Mr. Watts, object of much curiosity and scorn, who sweeps out the ruined schoolhouse and begins to read to the children each day from Charles Dickens's classic Great Expectations. So begins this rare, original story about the abiding strength that imagination, once ignited, can provide. As artillery echoes in the mountains, thirteen-year-old Matilda and her peers are riveted by the adventures of a young orphan named Pip in a city called London.
The Glass Castle / by Jeannette WallsISBN: 9780743247535
When sober, Jeannette’s brilliant and charismatic father captured his children’s imagination, teaching them physics, geology, and how to embrace life fearlessly. But when he drank, he was dishonest and destructive. Her mother was a free spirit who abhorred the idea of domesticity and didn’t want the responsibility of raising a family. The Walls children learned to take care of themselves. They fed, clothed, and protected one another, and eventually found their way to New York. Their parents followed them, choosing to be homeless even as their children prospered.
We Have Always Lived in the Castle / by Shirley JacksonISBN: 9780143129547
Taking readers deep into a labyrinth of dark neurosis, We Have Always Lived in the Castle is perhaps the crowning achievement of Shirley Jackson's brilliant career: a deliciously unsettling novel about a perverse, isolated, and possibly murderous family and the dramatic struggle that ensues when an unexpected visitor interrupts their unusual way of life.
English Supplemental Material
ENGL 1010: English Composition 1
The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings, 4th edition / by Richard Bullock, Maureen Daly Goggin, and Francine WeinbergISBN: 9780393264371
With just enough detail, this is the rhetoric that tells students what they need to know and resists the temptation to tell them everything there is to know. Designed for easy reference -- with menus, directories, and a combined glossary/index. The Third Edition has new chapters on academic writing, choosing genres, writing online, and choosing media, as well as new attention to multimodal writing.
ENGL 1020: English Composition 2
The Norton Introduction to Literature with 2016 MLA Update, 12th edition / by Kelly J. Mays (Editor)ISBN: 9780393623567
The Norton Introduction to Literature presents an engaging, balanced selection of literature to suit any course. Offering a thorough treatment of historical and critical context, the most comprehensive media package available, and a rich suite of tools to encourage close reading and thoughtful writing, the Twelfth Edition is unparalleled in its guidance of understanding, analyzing, and writing about literature.
The Norton Introduction to Literature, 11th edition / by Kelly J. Mays (Editor)ISBN: 9780393913385
The Norton Introduction to Literature, Eleventh Edition, is a diverse, flexible, and balanced text that offers the most carefully edited apparatus and the most interesting and useful treatment of the contexts of literature. A best seller since its first edition, The Norton Introduction to Literature continues to meet the needs of today's students and instructors, offering trusted guidance for analyzing texts, writing thoughtfully, and appreciating literature.
ENGL 2055: African-American Literature
Third edition is available in the Reserve Rooms on each campus for in-library use only.
ENGL 2110: Early American Literature
The Norton Anthology vol. 1: Beginnings to 1865, shorter 9th edition / by Robert S. LevineISBN: 9780393264524
The most trusted anthology for complete works, balanced selections, and helpful editorial apparatus, The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Shorter Ninth Edition, features fresh scholarship, new authors and topical clusters, a new ebook, and an enriched instructor site which make the Norton Anthology an even better teaching tool for instructors and an unmatched value for students.
ENGL 2120: Modern American Literature
The Norton Anthology vol. 2: 1865 to the present, shorter 9th edition / by Robert S. LevineISBN: 9780393264531
The most trusted anthology for complete works, balanced selections, and helpful editorial apparatus, The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Shorter Ninth Edition, features fresh scholarship, new authors and topical clusters, a new ebook, and an enriched instructor site which make the Norton Anthology an even better teaching tool for instructors and an unmatched value for students.
ENGL 2210: Early British Literature and ENGL 2220: Modern British Literature
Tenth edition is available in the Hardin Valley, Blount County, and Strawberry Plains libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
READ 0900: Academic & Personal Reading - PS HV Reading List
I Have Lived a Thousand Years is also available in our Hardin Valley, Blount County, and Division Street circulating collections.
We Have Always Lived in the Castle / by Shirley JacksonISBN: 9780143129547
Taking readers deep into a labyrinth of dark neurosis, We Have Always Lived in the Castle is perhaps the crowning achievement of Shirley Jackson's brilliant career: a deliciously unsettling novel about a perverse, isolated, and possibly murderous family and the dramatic struggle that ensues when an unexpected visitor interrupts their unusual way of life.
Liberal Arts Includes:
- Communication Studies: Speech, Mass Communication, Journalism
- Fine Arts: Art, Music, Theatre
- Humanities & Social Sciences: History, Criminal Justice, Philosophy, Political Science, Social work, Sociology, Women's studies
- Modern Languages: American Sign Language, Chinese, French, German and Spanish
ART 2010: Art History Survey 1
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 14th edition, combined / by Fred S. KleinerISBN: 9781111771577
Provides a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the fourteenth edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages: a Global History, 14th edition, vol. 1 / by Fred S. KleinerISBN: 9781111771836
Provides a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the fourteenth edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 13th edition, vol. 1 / by Fred S. KleinerISBN: 9780495115496
As fascinating as a real visit to the world's famous museums and architectural sites, this book gives you a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions. Easy to read and understand, this 13th Edition includes a unique "scale" feature that will help you better visualize the actual size of the artworks shown in the book.
ART 2020: Art History Survey 2
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, global edition: Survey of Art History 2, 14th edition / by Fred S. KleinerISBN: 9780495995128
Provides a comprehensive, beautifully illustrated tour of the world's great artistic traditions! Easy to read and understand, the fourteenth edition of the most widely read art history book in the English language continues to evolve, providing a rich cultural backdrop for each of the covered periods and geographical locations, and incorporating new artists and art forms -- all reproduced according to the highest standards of clarity and color fidelity.
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 12th edition, vol. 2 / by Fred S. Kleiner and Christin J. MamiyaISBN: 0534640915
The market-leading text for the art history survey course, Gardner’s Art Through the Ages has served as a comprehensive and thoughtfully crafted guide to the defining phases of the world's artistic tradition. With this book in hand, thousands of students have watched the story of art unfold in its full historical, social, religious, economic, and cultural context, and thus deepened their understanding of art, architecture, painting, and sculpture.
CRMJ 1010: Introduction to Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice in Action, 8th edition / by Larry K. Gaines; Roger LeRoy MillerISBN: 9781285458984
This edition places you in the center of the action and helps you learn about criminal justice. You'll explore vivid real-life applications that clarify key concepts and read about the many exciting new career opportunities that the field now offers. Chapter material will make sense, thanks to straight-from-the-headlines vignettes that begin every chapter. Knowing what's important is a snap with each chapter's numbered objectives, which are reinforced throughout the chapter.
CRMJ 2020: Introduction to Corrections
Corrections Today, 3rd edition / by Larry J. Siegel; Clemens BartollasISBN: 9781305261082
Get a frontline look at the field of corrections with this briefer, visual book, ideal for readers who are interested in real-world concepts and applications. It examines the field of corrections through the lens of readers--perhaps like you--who are giving serious thought to a career in the field or are now working in corrections while seeking an advanced degree in order to obtain a promotion or switch job paths.
HIST 2010: Early United States History and HIST 2020: Modern United States History
Give Me Liberty! is also available in the Reserve Rooms in each campus' library for in-library use only. The 6th edition is only available in the Strawberry Plains library Reserve Room.
Give Me Liberty!, 5th edition / by Eric FonerISBN: 9780393603385
Give Me Liberty! is the #1 book in the U.S. history survey course because it works in the classroom. A single-author text by a leader in the field, Give Me Liberty! delivers an authoritative, accessible, concise, and integrated American history. Updated with powerful new scholarship on borderlands and the West.
Give Me Liberty!, 4th edition / by Eric FonerISBN: 9780393920321
Clear, concise, integrated, and up-to-date, Give Me Liberty! is a proven success with teachers and students. Eric Foner pulls the pieces of the past together into a cohesive picture, using the theme of freedom throughout. This edition is streamlined and coherent, and features stronger coverage of American religion, a bright four-color design, and a reinforced pedagogical program aimed at fostering effective reading and study skills.
America: a Concise History, 5th edition / by James A. Henretta; Rebecca Edwards; Robert O. SelfISBN: 9780312643270
With fresh interpretations from two new authors, wholly reconceived themes, and a wealth of cutting-edge scholarship, the Fifth Edition of America: A Concise History is designed to work perfectly with the survey is taught today. Building on the book's hallmark strengths -- balance, explanatory power, and a brief-yet-comprehensive narrative – the authors have shaped this text into the ideal brief book for the modern survey course.
HIST 2210: Early Western Civilization and HIST 2220: Modern Western Civilization
Western Civilizations, 4th edition / by Joshua Cole; Carol SymesISBN: 9780393265323
Western Civilizations is a carefully crafted text and media program intended to empower students to master core content, engage in historical analysis, and think critically. This Brief Fourth Edition has been substantially updated with the latest scholarship that connects the West to global contexts, as well as new "Past and Present" features that connect historical themes to contemporary topics.
HIST 2310: Early World History and HIST 2320: Modern World History
Newer editions of Worlds Together, Worlds Apart are available in our Hardin Valley, Blount County, Division Street, and Magnolia Avenue campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
MUS 1030: Introduction to Music
Various editions of Music: an Appreciation can also be found in various campus library Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
Music: an Appreciation, brief 9th edition / by Roger KamienISBN: 9781259870545
Music: An Appreciation remains the time-tested solution for welcoming non-majors to the art of listening to great music. This edition places a renewed focus on learning the elements of music, fostering each student's unique path to listening and understanding. As the authority in the Music Appreciation course, Kamien equips students with the language, tools and listening skills required to sustain a life-long enthusiasm for music.
Music: an Appreciation, brief 7th edition / by Roger KamienISBN: 9780078025099
What does it take to make a great performance? It takes great music, a great performer and a great instrument. Music: An Appreciation includes some of the greatest music ever created. Roger Kamien’s excellence as an interpreter of that music has made his program number one in the market used by over half a million students since its conception.
PHIL 1030: Introduction to Philosophy
Newer edition of Growing Wisdom is available in the Hardin Valley Reserve Room for in-library use only.
Growing Wisdom: an Invitation to Western Philosophy, revised edition / by Charles Cardwell; E. Frank MashburnISBN: 9781465292483
No one is born with Wisdom - the ability to think and act with understanding and insight. Wisdom grows only in a soil rich with knowledge and experience, but knowledge and experience provide only the nutrients. Growing wisdom takes time and effort. Great minds have graced us with records of their struggles towards wisdom. This volume enables us to stand on the shoulders of some of these giants and thereby grow our own wisdom farther -- and faster!"
PHIL 1040: Introduction to Ethics
Hornbook Ethics is also available as an eBook here.
Hornbook Ethics / by Charles CardwellISBN: 9781624663727
Focusing on basics--including those critical thinking skills that make philosophical ethics possible-- Hornbook Ethics aims to help students understand, analyze, and evaluate both philosophical work in ethics and real-life ethical problems.
What's Wrong? Applied Ethicists and Their Critics, 2nd edition / by David Boonin; Graham OddieISBN: 9780195337808
Employing a unique approach to teaching argumentation, the editors open each chapter with an influential article that takes a strong stand on a particular issue; the essays that immediately follow offer objections and critical responses to the arguments put forth in the featured selection. This format helps students learn how to better engage in debates because it illustrates how philosophers argue with each other.
PHIL 1500: Philosophy & Film
The following films are listed on the syllabus for this course and are available in the Pellissippi libraries in DVD format:
Philosophy Through Film, 2nd edition / by Mary M. LitchISBN: 9780415997430
Some of the world's best-loved films can be used as springboards for examining enduring philosophical questions. Philosophy Through Film provides guidance in how to watch films with an eye for their philosophical content, helping students become familiar with key topics in all of the major areas in Western philosophy, and helping them master the techniques of philosophical argumentation.
PHIL 2200:Introduction to World Religions
A newer edition of Invitation to World Religions can be found in the Hardin Valley and Magnolia Avenue campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
POLS 1030: American Government
SOCI 1010: Introduction to Sociology
Additional copies of Sociology in Our Times: the essentials, 9th edition can be found in the Hardin Valley and Magnolia Avenue campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
Sociology in Our Times: the essentials, 9th edition / by Diana KendallISBN: 9781133957171
Sociology in our Times, 9e uses real-life stories, told by the people who have lived them, as well as familiar themes such as the American Dream, body image, the environment, and fake news media to introduce you to the study of sociology and engage your sociological imagination--a vital resource you may not know you have. Kendall shows you how sociology is at work in our society and can be applied to everyday life and to the pressing social issues we face.
SPAN 1010/1020: Beginning Spanish 1 and 2
Plazas: Lugar de Encuentros, 5th edition / by Robert Hershberger; Susan Navey-Davis; Guiomar Borrás AlvarezISBN: 9781305499621
PLAZAS is the place where culture and language find common ground! This accessible introduction to Spanish uses the background of vibrant, Spanish-speaking cultures from around the world to expose you to the language as it is actually used in everyday conversation. With helpful visuals, contemporary examples, and carefully crafted grammar and vocabulary presentations, PLAZAS is your key to success in the course and in the language!
Plazas: Lugar de Encuentros, 4th edition / by Robert Hershberger, Susan Navey-Davis, and Guiomar BorrásISBN: 9781285125749
This textbook is for Spanish 1010, Beginning Spanish I and Spanish 2020, Beginning Spanish II at Pellissippi State Community College. The courses, SPAN 1010 and SPAN 2020, are an introduction to Spanish: conversation, grammar, composition, vocabulary building, reading, listening and practice materials on CDs and the Web. A language laboratory is required.
SPAN 2010/2020: Intermediate Spanish 1 and 2
A newer edition of Facetas: Nivel Intermedio, Curso breve can be found in our Hardin Valley and Magnolia Avenue campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
Facetas: Nivel Intermedio, Curso Breve, 4th student edition / by Jose A. BlancoISBN: 9781626809628
Facetas takes an interactive, communicative approach designed to provide students with an active and rewarding learning experience as they strengthen their language skills and develop their cultural competency. It focuses on real communication in meaningful contexts to develop and consolidate students’ speaking, listening, reading, and writing skills.
THEA 1030: Introduction to Theatre
The Art of the Theatre, 4th edition can also be found in the Hardin Valley and Magnolia Avenue libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
The Art of Theatre, 4th edition / by William Missouri Downs; Wright; Erik RamseyISBN: 9781305954700
The Art of Theatre, 4th edition, brings the fascinating world of theatre to life with lively coverage of the history, cultural diversity, creativity, controversy -- and even a typical day in the life -- of theatre. As the authors wrote each chapter, they asked themselves how the subject applies to students' lives. The result is a text packed with practical information you can use in everyday life, including insight on censorship, freedom of speech, copyrights, the National Endowment for the Arts, and more.
Supplemental Math Material
TI-84 Plus Graphing Calculator / by Texas instrumentsThe Pellissippi State Veterans Collection currently has three graphing calculators available for semester-long checkout. One is a TI-84 Plus, while two are brand new TI84 Plus CE with Python programming capabilities. If all three are on loan, you can still get a TI-84 Plus calculator for a one-week (renewable) loan from our Hardin Valley and Magnolia Avenue campus' Reserve Rooms.
College Algebra Quick Reference Guide / by Ken YablonskyISBN: 9781423220312
Brush up on your first year of college-level math with our new College Algebra guide! Pinpointed essentials of college algebra are covered in our easy-to-access format that includes succinct explanations of step-by-step problem solving, as well as the related mathematical rules. Whether you are in high school or college, taking the course for your first time or tackling higher-level math, this guide is an essential resource for reviewing this fundamental area of mathematics.
Living Life Mathematically: a Pathway to Quantitative Literacy / by Kim Denley and Mike HallISBN: 9781935782056
Viewing Life Mathematically is intended for a college general education math course for students who aren't required to take statistics or calculus. Its goal is to provide these students with some of the benefits of mathematics, with the clear understanding that the teacher will inevitably face the age-old student question "When will I ever use this in real life?"
Statistics Equations and Answers Quick Reference Guide / by Stephen V. KizlikISBN: 9781423208570
Statistics problems can make the best students shudder as they near the classroom, but they need not worry any longer--QuickStudy is here to help! A comprehensive, up-to-date collection of tips and tricks for understanding statistics/probability is contained in this 3-panel (6-page) guide, which is designed with easy-to-use icons to help students go right to the equations and problems they most need to learn, and also call out helpful tips to use and common pitfalls to avoid.
MATH 0030: College Mathematics Principles w/Lab and MATH 1030: Introduction to College Mathematics
Introductory and intermediate algebra for college students, custom PSCC 5th edition / by Robert BlitzerISBN: 9781323423899
Robert Blitzer’s use of realistic applications instantly piques students’ curiosity about the presence of mathematical concepts in the world around them. Blitzer pulls from topics that are relevant to college students, often from pop culture and everyday life, to ensure that students will actually use their learning resources to achieve success. With an expansion of the series to now include a Developmental Math “all-in-one” text, students at all levels will see how math applies to their daily lives and culture.
MATH 0530: Statistics Principles w/Lab
MATH 1530: Introductory Statistics
Elementary Statistics: Picturing the World is also available in our Blount County, Division Street, and Magnolia Avenue campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
Elementary Statistics: Picturing the World, 7th edition / by Ron Larson; Betsy FarberISBN: 9780134683416
Simplifies statistics through practice and real-world applications. This text makes statistics approachable with stepped-out instruction, extensive real-life examples and exercises, and a design that fits content for each page to make the material more digestible. The text's combination of theory, pedagogy, and design helps students understand concepts and use statistics to describe and think about the world.
MATH 1630: Finite Mathematics
A newer edition of College Mathematics for Business, Economics, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences is available in each of our campus libraries' Reserve Room for in-library use only.
MATH 1830: Applied Calculus
A newer edition of College Mathematics for Business, Economics, Life Sciences, and Social Sciences is available in each of our campus libraries' Reserve Room for in-library use only.
MATH 1910/1920: Calculus 1 and 2
A newer edition of Calculus: Early Transcendentals is also available in the Hardin Valley library's Reserve Room for in-library use only.
Calculus: Early Transcendentals, 3rd edition / by Jon Rogawski; Colin AdamsISBN: 9781464114885
Offers an ideal balance of formal precision and dedicated conceptual focus, helping students build strong computational skills while continually reinforcing the relevance of calculus to their future studies and their lives. This new edition stays true to the late Jon Rogawski's refreshing and highly effective approach, while drawing on extensive instructor and student feedback.
Includes:
- Anthropology
- Biology
- Chemistry
- Physical Education
- Physics
- Psychology
Supplemental Biology Material
Biology for Dummies® / by Consumer Dummies Staff; Rene Fester Kratz; Donna Rae SiegfriedISBN: 9780470598757
An updated edition of the ultimate guide to understanding biology... Wouldn't it be great to have a single source of quick answers to all our questions about how living things work? Now there is. From molecules to animals, cells to ecosystems, Biology For Dummies, 2nd Edition answers all your questions about how living things work.
BIOL 1110: General Biology 1
BIOL 1120: General Biology 2
BIOL 2010: Human Anatomy & Physiology 1
BIOL 2020: Human Anatomy & Physiology 2
BIOL 2130: Microbiology
Microbiology with Diseases by Body System, 5th edition / by Robert BaumanISBN: 9780134477206
The Fifth Edition includes a Disease in Depth feature on Bacterial Urinary Tract Infections that investigates how E. coli causes these infections, their signs and symptoms, and how to treat them. Learn about these and other diseases, as well as how microorganisms impact health, with Microbiology with Diseases by Body System.
BIOL 2400: Principles of Nutrition
Understanding Nutrition, 14th edition / by Eleanor Noss Whitney; Sharon Rady RolfesISBN: 9781285874340
Connecting with you through an approachable writing style, Understanding Nutrition, 14th Edition includes twenty chapters on topics such as diet planning, macronutrients, vitamins and minerals, diet and health, fitness, life span nutrition, food safety, and world hunger, among others.
CHEM 1010/1020: Introductory Chemistry 1 and 2
General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry, 7th edition / by Janice Gorzynski SmithISBN: 9780073026572
Smith writes with a bulleted approach that delivers need-to-know information in a succinct style for today's students. Armed with an excellent illustration program full of macro-to-micro art, as well as many applications to biological, medical, consumer, and environmental topics, this book is a powerhouse of learning for students.
CHEM 1110/1120: General Chemistry 1 and 2
Chemistry: Atoms First, 2nd edition / by Julia Burdge; Jason OverbyISBN: 9780073511184
The Atoms First approach starts with the fundamental building block of matter, the atom, and uses it as the stepping-stone to understanding more complex chemistry topics. Once mastery of the nature of atoms and electrons is achieved, the formation and properties of compounds are developed.
GEOG : Introduction to Geography
GEOL 1040: Physical Geology
PHED 1010: Lifetime Fitness
PHED 1100: Concepts of Wellness
Fit & Well: Core Concepts and Labs in Physical Fitness and Wellness, 13th custom PSCC edition / by Thomas D. Fahey; Paul M. Insel; Walton T. RothISBN: 9781259912382
Fit & Well gives students the knowledge and skills to improve their exercise, eating, and stress management habits and make meaningful and lasting behavioral changes. Written by experts who work and teach in the fields of exercise science, physical education, and health education, Fit & Well provides accurate, reliable, current information on key health and fitness topics as well as issues related to mind-body health, diversity, gender, and consumer health.
PHYS 2010: Non-Calculus Physics 1 and 2
PSYC 1030: Introduction to Psychology
Psychology, 5th edition / by Saundra Ciccarelli; J. WhiteISBN: 9780134636856
Psychology, 5th edition employs a learner-centered, assessment-driven approach that maximizes student engagement, and helps educators keep students on track. The authors draw students into the discipline by showing how psychology relates to their own lives. Clear learning objectives, based on the recommended APA undergraduate learning outcomes, guide students through the material.
Psychology, 4th edition / by Saundra K. Ciccarelli; J. Noland WhiteISBN: 9780205972241
With its engaging writing style and comprehensive coverage of key research, Psychology, 4/e, awakens students' curiosity and energizes their desire to learn more. This title draws learners into an interactive experience of psychology. The authors establish clear learning objectives tied to the most recent APA-recommended undergraduate learning guidelines.
Psychology, 3rd edition / by Saundra K. Ciccarelli and J. Noland WhiteISBN: 9781269690829
With its engaging writing style and comprehensive coverage of key research, Psychology, 3/e, awakens students’ curiosity and energizes their desire to learn more. This brief version draws readers into an ongoing dialogue about psychology, allowing them to fully grasp the subject. The authors establish clear learning objectives tied to the most recent APA-recommended undergraduate learning outcomes.
PSYC 2100: Psychology of Human Development
A newer edition of The Developing Person through Childhood and Adolescence can be found in the Hardin Valley, Blount County, and Strawberry Plains campus libraries' Reserve Rooms for in-library use only.
Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence, 10th edition / by Kathleen Stassen BergerISBN: 9781464175954
Berger's portrait of the scientific investigation of childhood and adolescent development helps bring an evolving field into the evolving classroom. Guided by her clear, inviting voice, and page after page of fascinating examples from cultures around the world, students see how classic and current research, and the lives of real people, shape the field's core theories and concepts.
PSYC 2130: Lifespan Psychology
Additional copies of Invitation to the Life Span can be found in the Reserve Rooms of each of our campus libraries' for in-library use only.
Invitation to the Life Span, 2nd edition / by Kathleen Stassen BergerISBN: 9781429283526
This edition of Invitation to the Life Span incorporates a wide range of new research, especially in fast-moving areas such as brain development and psychopathology, while taking advantage of innovative new tools for media-centered teaching and learning. Throughout, as always, the signature voice of Kathleen Berger ties it all together, with relatable explanations of scientific content, wide ranging cultural examples, and skill-building tools for sharper observation and critical thinking.
SWRK 2010: Introduction to Social Work
The Language of Medicine, 11th edition / by 
ICD-10-CM Professional for Hospitals, 2015 edition / by 
Icd-10-Pcs: the complete official draft code set, 2015 edition / by 
Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th edition / by 
Workbook for Insurance Handbook for the Medical Office, 13th edition / by 
Business Law: Legal Environment, Online Commerce, Business Ethics, and International Issues, 9th edition / by 
Supervision: Concepts and Practices of Management, 13th edition / by 
Problem Solving with C++, 9th edition / by 
Data Structures and Algorithms in C++, 2nd edition / by 
Computer Organization, custom 2nd edition for Pellissippi State / by 
Introduction to Java Programming and Data Structures, Comprehensive Version, 11th edition / by 
Modern Systems Analysis and Design, 8th edition / by 
Macroeconomics: Principles, Problems, and Policies, custom PSCC 21st edition / by 
Macroeconomics: Principles, Problems, and Policies, custom PSCC 20th edition / by 
Microeconomics: Principles, Policies, and Problems, custom PSCC 21st edition / by 
Microeconomics: Principles, Problems, and Policies, custom PSCC 20th edition / by 
Microsoft Office 365 and Office 2016, Introductory / by 
Fundamentals of Building Construction, 6th edition / by 
Exercises in Building Construction, 6th edition / by 
Fundamentals of Construction Estimating, 3rd edition / by 
Surveying, 5th edition / by 
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 5th edition / by 
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 3rd edition / by 
Circuit Analysis: Theory and Practice, 2nd edition / by 
Fundamentals of Linear Electronics, 2nd edition / by 
Digital Fundamentals with PLD Programming / by 
Experiments in Digital Fundamentals with PLD Programming / by 
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2017 / by 
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2016 / by 
Parametric Modeling with SOLIDWORKS 2015 / by 
Print Reading for Industry, 10th edition / by 
Modern Materials and Manufacturing Processes, 3rd edition / by 
Essentials of Advanced Composite Fabrication and Repair, 1st edition / by 
Understanding Additive Manufacturing, 1st edition / by 
Mister Pip / by 
The Glass Castle / by 
We Have Always Lived in the Castle / by 
English Composition and Style / by 
The Norton Field Guide to Writing with Readings, 4th edition / by 
The Norton Field Guide to Writing, with Readings, 3rd edition / by 
The Norton Introduction to Literature with 2016 MLA Update, 12th edition / by 
The Norton Introduction to Literature, 11th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology of African American Literature, 2nd edition / by 
The Norton Anthology vol. 1: Beginnings to 1865, shorter 9th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology of American Literature,: vol. 1, shorter 8th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology of American Literature, 7th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology vol. 2: 1865 to the present, shorter 9th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 9th edition / by 
The Norton Anthology of English Literature, 6th edition / by 
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 14th edition, combined / by 
Gardner's Art Through the Ages, 12th edition, vol. 2 / by 
Criminal Justice in Action, 8th edition / by 
Corrections Today, 3rd edition / by 
Give Me Liberty!, 5th edition / by 
Give Me Liberty!, 4th edition / by 
America: a Concise History, 5th edition / by 
Western Civilizations, 4th edition / by 
Western Civilizations, 3rd edition / by 
Worlds Together, Worlds Apart, concise 4th edition / by 
Music: an Appreciation, brief 9th edition / by 
Music: an Appreciation, brief 7th edition / by 
Growing Wisdom: an Invitation to Western Philosophy, revised edition / by 
Hornbook Ethics / by 
What's Wrong? Applied Ethicists and Their Critics, 2nd edition / by 
Philosophy Through Film, 2nd edition / by 
Invitation to World Religions, 2nd edition / by 
Government in America: 2014 election edition / by 
Sociology in Our Times: the essentials, 9th edition / by 
Plazas: Lugar de Encuentros, 5th edition / by 
Plazas Student Activity Manual, 5th custom PSCC edition / by 
Facetas: Nivel Intermedio, Curso Breve, 4th student edition / by 
The Art of Theatre, 4th edition / by 
College Algebra Quick Reference Guide / by 
Statistics Equations and Answers Quick Reference Guide / by 
Introductory and intermediate algebra for college students, custom PSCC 4th edition / by 
A Co-Requisite Workbook for Statistics, 1st edition / by 
Elementary Statistics: Picturing the World, 7th edition / by 
College Mathematics for Business, Economics, Life Sciences and Social Sciences, 2nd PSCC custom edition (based on 13th edition) / by 
Calculus: Early Transcendentals, 3rd edition / by 
Calculus: Early Transcendentals, 2nd edition / by 
Biology for Dummies® / by 
Life: the Science of Biology, 11th edition / by 
General Biology Lab Manual: for BIOL 1110, 5th edition / by by 
Human Anatomy & Physiology, 2nd edition / by 
Active-Learning Workbook for Human Anatomy & Physiology, 2nd edition / by 
Martini's atlas of the human body, 9th edition / by 
A Brief Atlas of the Human Body, 2nd Edition / by 
Microbiology with Diseases by Body System, 5th edition / by 
Understanding Nutrition, 15th edition / by 
Understanding Nutrition, 14th edition / by 
General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry, 7th edition / by 
Chemistry: Atoms First, 2nd edition / by 
Introduction to Geography, 14th edition / by 
Understanding Earth, 6th edition / by 
Laboratory Manual in Physical Geology, 10th edition / by 
Concepts of Fitness and Wellness: a Comprehensive Lifestyle Approach, 9th edition / by 
Fit & Well: Core Concepts and Labs in Physical Fitness and Wellness, 11th custom edition / by 
Fit and Well: Core Concepts and Labs in Physical Fitness and Wellness, 10th edition / by 
Physics, 9th edition / by 
Psychology, 5th edition / by 
Psychology, 4th edition / by 
Developing Person Through Childhood and Adolescence, 10th edition / by 
Invitation to the Life Span, 3rd edition / by 
Invitation to the Life Span, 2nd edition / by 
An Introduction to the Profession of Social Work, 6th edition / by 
An Introduction to the Profession of Social Work, 5th edition / by 
