ENGL 2110: Patton: Books

Each volume Presents literary criticism on the works of dramatists of all nations, cultures, and time periods. Critical essays are selected from leading sources, including published journals, magazines, books, reviews, radio transcripts, diaries, newspapers, broadsheets, pamphlets, and scholarly papers.

Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.

In this reference book, entries are arranged alphabetically by poet. In order to reflect the influence of tradition as well as innovation, poets from various eras will be represented in every volume. Each Poetry Criticism entry covers the poet's major or most commonly read works and discusses his or her most prominent themes and poetic techniques. Entries contain an introductory biographical sketch, excerpts of critical analyses of major poems and sources for additional reading.

Features discussion and analysis of poems of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Provides an overview of the poem and discussion of its principal themes, images, form and construction.

Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance.

Excerpts from criticism of the works of world authors from classical antiquity through the fourteenth century, from first appraisals to current evaluations.

Each print volume in this long-standing series profiles approximately 4-8 of the greatest writers and thinkers of the late Middle Ages, Renaissance and Restoration periods by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals. Among those profiled in this volume are:Aphra BehnDaniel DefoeHenry FieldingJonathan Swift

Includes excerpts from criticism of the works by authors who died between 1800 and 1900. A variety of genres and nationalities are represented. A cumulative author index appears in many of the volumes. A paper cumulative index is available. Includes a cumulative title index.

This offers excerpts from criticism, with citations to the original sources, of the works of international writers who died between 1900 and Dec. 31, 1959. Each author is briefly described and principal works listed. A paper cumulative index to the series is available. Includes a cumulative title index.