Sociology: Web Resources

World culture resources available at the Library of Congress.

A dictionary of sociology, criminology, political science, and women's studies published by Athabasca University in Canada.

The Pew Research Center is an American think tank organization based in Washington, D.C. that provides information on issues, attitudes and trends shaping the United States and the world.

Provides articles, datasheets, and reports on a number of topics including: Environment, HiV/AIDS, Population Trends, Reproductive Health, Marriage/Family, Education, Family Planning, Fertility, Health, Race/Ethnicity, Poverty, Migration, Youth, Aging, Mortality, and Gender.

The School of Data aims "to empower civil society organizations (CSOs), journalists, governments and citizens with the skills they need to use data effectively in their efforts to create better, more equitable and more sustainable societies." (from site's Who We Are page). The School of Data website offers courses, guides data expeditions, and maintains a blog of news events that focus on teaching the above groups skills required in acquiring, interpreting, and presenting data. Knowledge of statistics and code-writing ability are not necessary, although may learn some of both in the process of participating. Creative Commons license allows the use, reuse, and distribution of training approaches and course materials. (paraphrased from Abbott, R.L. "School of Data." CHOICE: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries Aug. 2015: 2000. Academic OneFile. Web. 28 Mar. 2016.)

An independent guide to the sociological resources available on the internet.

One of the largest publishers of statistical information. Contains information on:
Population demographics
Economic census figures
Census of manufacturers

The Union Membership and Coverage Database is an Internet data resource providing private and public sector labor union membership, coverage, and density estimates compiled from the monthly household Current Population Survey (CPS) using BLS methods.

Provides a global center for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources

The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, and evaluates programs on social and economic issues.

Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situations