PSCC Libraries: Photography: Photographs

Find Photographs

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The collection contains hundreds of thousands of digital images from across many time periods and cultures, drawn from museums, archaeological teams, photo archives, and art reference publishers. For tutorials on searching ARTstor, creating and managing ARTstor folders, exporting images for PowerPoint, and more, see ARTstor's YouTube channel.
National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine articles of National Geographic 1888 to present. Includes audio, images, kids topic guides, and teacher lesson plans.

NGM 1989

Flickr Commons
Public Domain and other copyright-restriction-free photos contributed by partnering cultural institutions located throughout the world.

Vintage portrait of two women, one man, and one dog.

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs catalog
Provides access to photographs, many without copyright restrictions. the collection is searchable by keyword and browsable by creator, subject, and format.

American Memory Auto Racing Pan

American Digital Collections
Hosted by Library of Congress, the American Digital Collection provides access to a number of collections about American history and culture. It uses historical images, sound recordings, and film recordings to document significant national events. Collections are put together by theme to form online exhibits. Most content is free of copyright restrictions.

Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project
Digitizes photographs from the University of Tenneessee Libraries' Special Collections.
Calvin M. McClung Digital Collection
Hosted by the Knox County Public Library, the McClung collection provides access to historic photographs with a focus on East Tennessee.
George Masa Photograph Collection
Hosted by the Highlands Historical Society of North Carolina, George Masa was a Japanese emigrant who helped create the Great Smokey Mountain National Park. He earned the unrivaled honor of being called "the greatest photographer of the Great Smoky Mountains."