PSCC Libraries: Western Civilization: Books

Subject Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

865.981.5326

Subjects: Education, History & Politics

Look for these Icons!

Keep an eye out for these icons when you're looking for Western Civilization resources in the library and on our website

B - Philosophy, Psychology, Religion
C - Archaology, Biography
D - World History
E - US History
F - History of the Americas
G - Geography, Anthropology
U - Military Science
V - Naval Science
Library Icons
For more information, including a complete list of our library icons and the subjects they represent

Find Books

The Story of Civilization by Will Durant; Ariel Durant
Call Number: CB53 .D85
This is an 11 volume comprehensive survey of mankind and is considered a classic for the study of civilization. (located on 2nd floor stacks).
Western Civilizations: Their History and Their Culture by Cole, Joshua.; Symes, Carol.; Coffin, Judith G.; Stacey, Robert.
Call Number: Reserve Room in circulation
Publication Date: 2011
The Social Dimension of Western Civilization by Richard M. Golden
Call Number: CB245 .S567 1999
ISBN: 0312178808
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Combining the latest scholarship with classic pieces, "The Social Dimension of Western Civilization's"48 secondary-source readings hook students with the fascinating and often surprising details of how everyday Western people worked, ate, played, celebrated, worshipped, married, procreated, fought, persecuted, behaved, and died.

ACLS Humanities eBook This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks and primary sources.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference articles. Includes images, audio files, animations, maps, and videos.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text reference articles, plot summaries, interviews, biographies, and country overviews 1961 to present. Includes images and audio.
World History in Context This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals, magazines, news, reference articles, and primary sources. Includes images, audio, maps, charts, and video.
EBSCO Academic eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks and children's ebooks 1779 to present.

Subject Headings

These subject headings may be used to locate books in OneSearch collection:

Civilization, Ancient
Civilization, Western
Civilization, Greco-Roman
History, Ancient
Middle Ages
World History

Call Numbers

Use these call numbers to browse the circulating and reference collections:

B Philosophy
CB History of Civilization
D History - General/World
GN Anthropology

eBook Tutorial

How to Read an eBook

eBooks are an excellent way to find background and overview information for research. Learn how to divide and conquer eBook sections and how to search for information within an eBook, in the following tutorial.