Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

Graphic Novels and Comics: How to Study

Researching Graphic Novels

How to Study

There are many ways to read and write about a graphic novel:

historically,
critically,
looking at types or themes,
debating the educational value,
and much more

After choosing a topic, explore the library's print and electronic resources about graphic novels.

Still Don't Understand the Graphic Novel?

Reading & Understanding Graphic Novels

Golsmith, Francisca. "Picture it: the diverse possibilities of graphic novel literature." Young Adult Library Services 9.4 (2011): 24+. Academic OneFile. Web. 30 Oct. 2015.
Petrucha, Stefan. "On writing (and reading), the graphic novel." Knowledge Quest 36.3 (2008): 60+. Academic OneFile. Web. 30 Oct. 2015.
White, Britt. "The world in words & pictures: how graphic novels can help to increase reaping comprehension for students with hearing loss." Knowledge Quest 39.3 (2011): 18+. Academic OneFile. Web. 30 Oct. 2015.

Graphic Novels & the Classroom

Interviews with Graphic Novelists & Illustrators

Comics, Manga, and Graphic Novels by Robert Petersen
Call Number: PN6710 .P415 2011

ISBN: 9780313363306

Publication Date: 2011-02-01

This text examines comics, graphic novels, and manga with a broad, international scope that reveals their conceptual origins in antiquity.
From Comic Strips to Graphic Novels by Daniel Stein (Editor); Jan-Noel Thon (Editor); Jan-Noël Thon (Editor)
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 9783110281811

Publication Date: 2013-06-18

This essay collection examines the theory and history of graphic narrative as one of the most interesting and versatile forms of narrative beyond traditional literary texts.
The Graphic Novel by Salem Press (Editor); Gary Hoppenstand (General Editor)
Call Number: Online

ISBN: 9781619252622

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

This volume offers an examination and analysis of the contemporary graphic novel as literature. Specific attention is paid to the use of narrative genre in the graphic novel (e.g. superhero, crime, horror, realistic/fantastic).

What is a Database?
A library database is a collection of pre-paid articles, ebooks, reports, statistics, images, videos, etc. that you can search by title, author, subject, keyword, and more. You can limit your results to a specific source (like articles), full-text, and scholarly sources.

Academic OneFile
Some full-text of journals, magazines, ebooks, and reference articles 1980 to present. Includes images, videos, and podcasts.
Credo Reference
Full-text reference articles. Includes images, audio files, animations, maps, and videos.
Research Library
Some full-text of journals, magazines, news, and reports 1908 to present. Includes images.
Education Full Text
Some full-text of journals, ebooks, magazines, biographies of educators 1983 to present. Includes images and maps.
Humanities Full Text
Some full-text of journals, magazines, biographies, interviews, literary criticism, and art reproductions 1980 to present. Includes images and maps.
Nexis Uni
Some full-text of news, magazines, company profiles, market reports, SEC filings, country information, biographies, and legal cases. Includes Shepard's Supreme Court citation service, tax materials, and patents.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Full-text journals, magazines, news, primary sources, biographies, interviews, and reference articles 1787 to present. Includes Lexile reading levels, audio, images, and videos.
Pop Culture Studies
Some full-text of journals, magazines, news 1980 to present. Includes images and audio.

Alternate Literary Voices and Vehicles: Graphic Novels

Watch more of this playlist online: