PSCC Libraries: ENGL 1020: Connelly: Articles / Databases

Cite Your Sources

MLA Style
Use our MLA Style Guide for tips on in-text citations and formatting your paper and bibliograpy!

What is a Database?
A library database is a collection of pre-paid articles, ebooks, reports, statistics, images, videos, etc. that you can search by title, author, subject, keyword, and more. You can limit your results to a specific source (like articles), full-text, and scholarly sources.

Literary Sources This link opens in a new window
Artemis combines some of PSCC's popular databases for literature resources into one search interface. The databases are Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Series in Gale Virtual Reference Library, and Twayne's Authors Series in Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Biography Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text biographies antiquity to present. Includes images.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text ebooks, biographies, primary sources, literary criticism, and reference articles. Includes Masterplots.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to back issues of selected academic journals in the following areas: African American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Biological Sciences, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Languages & Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, Statistics, and more. JSTOR does not include current journal issues.

Masterplots
Includes the complete twelve volume Masterplots 4th Edition. Masterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres -- long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction -- throughout history and around the world.