PSCC Libraries: Anthropology: Web Resources

Web Resources

Featured Web Resource

Human Origins: What Does It Meant To Be Human
Presented by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

This resource provides information on human evolution and human characteristics, including the Anthropocene, a 3D digiital collection of fossils, an interactive timeline, a look at the Rift Valley, the Hall of Human Origins, and so much more.

Additional Web Resources

Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History
The Anthropological Papers, published continuously since 1907, are monographic volumes that include some of the great ethnographies of the 20th century, particularly on North American Indians.
eLucy
Produced by the University of Texas-Austin, this web site is devoted to the study of human and primate comparative anatomy. It offers a unique set of digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information.
eSkeletons
Produced by the University of Texas-Austin, this web site is devoted to the study of human and primate comparative anatomy. It offers a unique set of digitized versions of skeletons in 2-D and 3-D in full color, animations, and much supplemental information.
EVIA Digital Archive Project (Ethnographic Video for Instruction and Analysis)
The EVIA Digital Archive Project is a joint effort of Indiana University and the University of Michigan to establish a digital archive of ethnographic video for use by scholars and instructors. Media in the EVIA Project consists of video collections that have been selected for inclusion by an editorial committee, and annotations have gone through a scholarly review process.
National Anthropological Archives and Human Studies Film Archives
Part of the Smithsonian Institution, the NAA and HSFA collect and preserve historical and contemporary anthropological materials that document the world's cultures and the history of anthropology. The web site includes several online exhibits.
NOVA Evolution
The Evolution page of the popular NOVA television series. Links to articles, video clips from NOVA episodes and other resources related Evolution.
Penn Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
Since its founding in 1887, the Penn Museum has collected around one million objects, many obtained directly through its own field excavations or anthropological research. Search the Penn Museum's digital collections including 354,433 object records representing 758,381 objects with 153,877 images.
University of Tennessee-Knoxville Forensic Anthropology Center
The purpose of the Forensic Anthropology Center is to provide research, training and service with compassion. The FAC includes the Anthropology Research Facility (a.k.a. the "Body Farm") as well as the Forensic Data Bank.

American Anthropological Association
Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology.
American Association of Biological Anthropologists
The AAPA is the world's leading professional organization for physical anthropologists.
Tennessee Council for Professional Archaeology
The TCPA is a non-profit mutual benefit corporation organized to facilitate, assist, & advocate for professionalism in the field archaeology in the State of Tennessee, and to promote archaeological awareness and stewardship of our past. Membership in the TCPA is open to any individual who supports the purposes of the Council and has an abiding interest in Tennessee’s archaeological heritage.

Anthropology News
Anthropology News is the official news source of the American Anthropological Association.
Science Daily: Anthropology
This award-winning website provides research articles, images, encyclopedia entries, book reviews, and videos on a variety of anthropology topics.
Science News: Anthropology
This award-winning biweekly news magazine covers important and emerging research in all fields of science.

American Anthropologist

How to determine website credibility

Five Criteria For Evaluating Web Pages
From Cornell University Library
Evaluating Sources
Basic principles for evaluating resources from Duke University.