PSCC Libraries: Anthropology: Articles / Databases

Online Resources

What is a Database?
A library database is a collection of pre-paid articles, ebooks, reports, statistics, images, videos, etc. that you can search by title, author, subject, keyword, and more. You can limit your results to a specific source (like articles), full-text, and scholarly sources.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Electronic version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Includes science news and related websites concerning life and physical sciences, as well as information on engineering, mathematics, and technology.
eHRAF Archaeology This link opens in a new window
eHRAF Archaeology is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides full-text access to back issues of selected academic journals. It contains issues of 56 Anthropology journals.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Some full-text of journals, magazines, biographies, and interviews 1972 to present. Includes images.

Credo Reference's Topic Pages are a great place to begin your research. Topic Pages include reference resources as well as links to relevant articles in other library databases.

These journals and magazines are available in the Hardin Valley Library's Reference Area or through the databases.

American Archaeology
AMERICAN ARCHAEOLOGY is the only popular magazine devoted to the excitement and mystery of archaeology in the United States, with additional coverage of Canada and Latin America. In four issues each year, American Archaeology’s colorful features and departments present the research breakthroughs, persistent puzzles, and unique personalities making news in this fascinating field.
Archaeology Magazine
Offers compelling narratives about the human past from every corner of the globe. Edited for a general audience, our news, features, and photo essays employ in-depth reporting, cogent analysis, and vivid storytelling to provide an accurate and often surprisingly intimate look at the record of human existence.

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text magazine articles of National Geographic 1888 to present. Includes audio, images, kids topic guides, and teacher lesson plans.

Natural History
NATURAL HISTORY'S mission is to promote understanding and appreciation of the world around us. Our authors delve into our origins, explore our future, and ask/answer questions big & small. Our columnists are gifted thinkers with an original take on their subjects. Award-winning photographers capture the Earth’s natural beauty. Natural History is also a rich trove of recommendations for books and travel.