Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

Linking Directly to Database Content: Linking to Database Content from D2L

Find out how to create a direct link to full-text articles, video, and other media in the databases.

Helpful Links

Linking to Database Content from D2L

Linking to Database Content from D2L

Linking to authoritative database sources can enrich your course content. Creating a permanent link to them can help you:

  • totally avoid copyright infringement by linking to library-licensed data
  • point your student to a relevant, reliable, and recent source
  • make it more convenient for readers to find references
  • create electronic reading lists or reserve reading lists that are completely online
  • use a link rather than paper or computer space in reproducing an entire document
  • fashion the link to replicate the way the citation looks in APA or MLA  and provide the student with the persistent link information as an example (if required by a style guide, publisher, or instructor)

D2L will alter links that have two "http" parts in one address, which happens when you add the PSCC EZ Proxy prefix to any permanent link.

Steps:

  1. Find the Permanent Link
  2. Add the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix
  3. Shorten the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix and permanent link
  4. Add the shortened link to D2L

Shorten the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix and Permanent Link

D2L will alter links that have two "http" parts in one address, which happens when you add the PSCC EZ Proxy prefix to any permanent link. So, use a link shortener to resolve this issue and create a working link in D2L.

Here are some link shorteners:

Add the Shortened Link to D2L

In D2L, navigate to the course content you want to edit. In the content box, place your cursor where you want to add the link. Click the Insert Quicklink icon.


In the pop-up window, choose URL, then paste the permanent URL (with the PSCC EZ proxy prefix if linked from a library database). Enter the text the link will display (ex. the title of the article), then click Insert.


Your link will display in the content box. When you are finished editing your course content, click Save.