Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

Linking Directly to Database Content: Home

Find out how to create a direct link to full-text articles, video, and other media in the databases.

Linking to the Databases

Linking Directly to Database Content

If you have found a book, article, video, or anything in our databases that you'd like to return to later, you can save a direct link to it instead of having to search for it again.

When you search for a source in the databases or access it through a search, the long link that you will see in the browser's address bar is temporary and will not allow you to return to the source later. But by finding the permanent link and adding the PSCC proxy link in front of it, you will be able to access it directly next time.

Many databases do provide permanent links to content, but where and how permanent links are displayed can vary widely. This guide provides information how to locate them.

Steps:

  1. Find the Permanent Link
  2. Add the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix

Linking to Database Content from D2L

Linking to authoritative database sources can enrich your course content. Creating a permanent link to them can help you:

  • totally avoid copyright infringement by linking to library-licensed data
  • point your student to a relevant, reliable, and recent source
  • make it more convenient for readers to find references
  • create electronic reading lists or reserve reading lists that are completely online
  • use a link rather than paper or computer space in reproducing an entire document
  • fashion the link to replicate the way the citation looks in APA or MLA  and provide the student with the persistent link information as an example (if required by a style guide, publisher, or instructor)

D2L will alter links that have two "http" parts in one address, which happens when you add the PSCC EZ Proxy prefix to any permanent link.

Steps:

  1. Find the Permanent Link
  2. Add the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix
  3. Shorten the PSCC EZ Proxy Prefix and permanent link
  4. Add the shortened link to D2L