Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

New Videos: September 2016

September 2016

Inside Job / 2010 <----- Available in our Hardin Valley and Division Street Libraries

Provides an analysis of the global financial crisis of 2008. At a cost of over $20 trillion, it caused millions of people to lose their jobs and homes in the worst recession since the Great Depression and nearly resulted in a global financial collapse. Through exhaustive research and extensive interviews with key financial insiders, politicians, journalists, and academics, this film traces the rise of a rogue industry which has corrupted politics, regulation, and academia.

HB3717 2008 .I57 2011


The Harvest = La Cosecha / 2011

Examines the problem of child migrant farm labor in the United States. Follows three children who travel from Texas to Michigan to Florida, working in the fields and apple orchards.

​HD1525 .H37 2011


Batkid Begins / 2015

In 2013, while battling Leukemia, five-year-old Miles Scott was granted his wish to become Batman's sidekickBatkid through the work of the Make-a-Wish Foundation culminating in a media-event that captured the public imagination in the U.S. and around the world.

RJ416.L4 B385 2015


                                        


 

The Presidents: the Lives and Legacies of the Leaders of the United States / 2012

An unprecedented eight-part survey of the personal lives and legacies of the remarkable men who have presided over the Oval Office. This highly acclaimed collection now includes a special BIOGRAPHY of President Barack Obama. Collection gathers together vivid snapshots of all Commanders in Chief who have guided America throughout its history--their powerful personalities, weaknesses, and major achievements or historical insignificance.

E176.1 .P92 2013


William Shakespeare / 1997

A description of the theater in Shakespeare's day. Topics include: money boxes and the box office ; refreshment stands ; the association of tomatoes with "bad" actors ; and, the groundlings. Engel discusses the configuration of the audience which was the focus of Shakespeare's efforts, basic elements in all his plays and how "Humpty Dumpty" is illustrative of Shakespearean tragedy. Provides a list of the phrases derived from the Bard of Avon which have passed into common parlance.

PS2631 .E26 1997


                              


 

Pacific Rim / 2013

When legions of monstrous creatures started rising from the sea, a deadly war began. To combat them, humans devised massive robots called Jaegers as weapons. But even the Jaegers proved nearly defenseless against the creatures [known as Kaijus]. Now on the verge of defeat, mankind must turn to two unlikely heroes, teamed in a seemingly obsolete Jaeger, as the last hope against a mounting apocalypse.

PN1997.2 .P33 2014



Saturday Night Fever / 1977

Tony is a young man living in Brooklyn. The highlight of his week is going to the local disco, where he is the king of the dancefloor. At the disco, Tony meets Stephanie and they agree to dance together in a competition. Stephanie resists Tony's attempts to romance her, as she aspires to greater things. Her goal is to move across the river to Manhattan. Gradually, Tony also becomes disillusioned with the life he is leading and he and Stephanie decide to help one another to start afresh.

PN1997 .S28 2009


The Taviani Brothers collection (3 films)

Padre Padrone: Gavino is six when his father hauls him out of school to keep watch over sheep on a barren countryside, huddled in a makeshift hut night and day. The child is constantly abused by his father who treats him as his own father treated him. When the illiterate Gavino is commanded by his father to join the army, he learns a trade and a new concept of life, discovering the outside world and his own identity within it.

Night of the Shooting Stars: Set in the summer of 1944 in a small Tuscan town caught between the threat of destruction by the retreating German forces and the advancing American army, this is a bedtime story told by a mother to her child. A recollection of her experience during the war which takes on the quality of fairytale as seen through the eyes of a six-year-old.

Kaos: Freely adapted from Luigi Pirandello's Novelle per un anno, the film consists of four separate tales portraying Sicilian peasant life at the turn of the 20th century. 

PN1995.9.I8 T38 2016


                              

The Revenant / 2015

Inspired by true events, during an expedition of the uncharted American wilderness, legendary explorer Hugh Glass is brutally attacked by a bear and left for dead by members of his own hunting team. In a quest to survive, Glass endures unimaginable grief as well as the betrayal of his confidant John Fitzgerald. Guided by sheer will and the love of his family, Glass must navigate a vicious winter in a relentless pursuit to live and find redemption.

PN1997.85 .R48 2016



The Witch: a New England Folktale / 2016

A family in 1630s New England faces destruction by the forces of witchcraft, black magic, and possession. When one of their five children goes missing and their life-sustaining crops fail, they fall victim to paranoia and fear as they begin to turn on one another.

PN1997.2 .W58 2016


The Maze Runner / 2014

When Thomas wakes up trapped in a massive maze with a group of other boys, he has no memory of theoutside world other than strange dreams about a mysterious organization known as W.C.K.D. Only by piecing together fragments of his past with clues he discovers in the maze can Thomas hope to uncover his true purpose and a way to escape.

PN1997.2 .M39 2015


                              

Paulette / 2012

Brash and opinionated retiree Paulette lives alone in a housing project on the outskirts of Paris. One evening, upon observing some mysterious dealings outside her building, Paulette discovers a surprising way to supplement her meager pension; an unlikely but successful career selling cannabis.

PN1997.2 .P38 2016


Julie & Julia / 2009

Julie Powell is a frustrated insurance worker who wants to be a writer. Trying to find a challenge in her life, she decides to cook her way through Julia Child's 'Mastering the Art of French Cooking' in one year, and to blog about it. As Juliebegins to find her groove as a cook, and her voice as a writer, the project takes on a life of its own. The project provides the struggling young woman with her life's purpose, to her very pleasant surprise. Julia Child has an amazing love affair with her dashing husband, Paul, all while embracing life and French food. Julie lovingly celebrates the life of one of American food's most influential and beloved figureheads.

PN1995.9.B55 J85 2009


                         


 

Spirited Away / 2001

When a young girl gets trapped in a strange new world of spirits, she must call upon the courage she never knew she had to free herself and rescue her parents.

PN1997 .S6575 2003


Howl’s Moving Castle / 2004

Sophie, who helps out at her late father's hat shop, is transformed one day by a witch into an old woman. Sophie seeks out the help of the wizard Howl, who has an amazing moving castle which is fueled by a fire demon named Calcifer.

PN1997.2 .H69 2013