Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

MLA & APA Citation: Video, Image, Music, TV, Radio, Interview

Video, Image, Music, TV, Radio, Interview

Film (p. 24)

Key Elements:

  1. Film Title (italicized)
  2. Director
  3. Optional: Contributors (Actors, Producers, Writers, etc.)
  4. Year Originally Released
  5. Production Company
  6. Publication Year

List other primary contributors, such as actors, producers, writers, etc., after the director's name if they are mentioned in your paper.

Glory period Directed by Edward Zwick comma 1989 comma Columbia TriStar Home Entertainment comma 2005 period

Streaming Video (p. 33)

Key Elements:

  1. Author
  2. Video Title (in quotes)
  3. Web Site Title or Database (italicized)
  4. Upload Date
  5. Web Site URL or Permanent Link
Harvey comma Sheridan period quotation mark Rosie the Riveter colon Real Women Workers in World War II period quotation mark YouTube comma uploaded by LibraryOfCongress comma 10 Feb period 2009 comma www.youtube.com/watch?v=04VNBM1PqR8 period Accessed on Oct period 2016 period

Image (p. 28)

Key Elements:

  1. Artist
  2. Image Title (italicized)
  3. Publication Year (if none, do not use)
  4. Format
  5. Owning Institution
  6. Location

Warhol comma Andy period Photobooth Self-Portrait period bracket circa 1963 bracket comma photograph comma Metropolitan Museum of Art comma New York period

From Database (p. 48)

After the city of housing institution, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the image.

Lichtenstein comma Roy period The Gun in America period 1989 comma lithograph comma Estate of Roy Lichtenstein comma New York period ARTstor comma library.artstor.org/library/secure/ViewImages?id=%2FTRKfyk3ISk0PSI9alN7R3spW3Qkelx6&userId=gjdEdQ%3D%3D&zoomparams= period

Music (p. 28)

Key Elements:

  1. Artist
  2. Song Title (in quotes)
  3. Album Title (italicized)
  4. Record Company
  5. Publication Year
  6. Web Site URL or Permanent Link

Online (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the Web site name in italics, then the Web link to the video.

Beyoncé period quotation mark Pretty Hurts period quotation mark Beyoncé comma Parkwood Entertainment comma 2013 comma www.beyonce.com/album/beyonce/ ?media_view=songs period

From Database (p. 48)

After the city of publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the image.

De Lucía comma Paco period quotation mark Tío Sabas period comma Live In America comma Universal Classics & Jazz comma 1994 period Music Online: Jazz Music Library comma search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/711723 period

TV Broadcast (p. 28)

Key Elements:

  1. Episode Title (in quotes)
  2. Program Title (italicized)
  3. Optional: Narrator, Performer, Director
  4. Network
  5. Local Station Call Letters
  6. Local Station City
  7. Broadcast Date

quotation mark Songbird period quotation mark Tennessee Uncharted comma narrated by Erick Baker comma PBS comma ETPBS comma Knoxville comma 29 Nov period 2014 period

 

Online (p. 48)

After the broadcast date, include the Web site name in italics, then the Web link to the video.

quotation mark Should Anti-Vaxxers be Punished? quotation mark CNN Tonight comma 5 Feb period 2015 period CNN comma www.cnn.com/videos/tv/2015/02/05/ctn-chris-aliysn-measles.cnn period Accessed 3 Oct period 2016 period

From Database (p. 48)

After the broadcast date, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the video.

quotation mark Japan’s Geisha Guardians of an Ancient Culture period quotation mark AFP News Footage comma 22 Sep period 2015 period Diversity Studies Collection comma go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=PPDS&sw=w&u=tel_a_pstcc&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCT3208640457&asid=3dc1027c34e0779ccc183d454d57ada3 period

Radio Broadcast (p. 28)

Key Elements:

  1. Episode Title (in quotes)
  2. Program Title (italicized)
  3. Optional: Narrator, Performer, Director
  4. Network
  5. Local Station Call Letters
  6. Local Station City
  7. Broadcast Date

quotation mark Muir of Gormack period quotation mark The Thistle and Shamrock comma narrated by Fiona Ritchie period National Public Radio comma WUOT comma Knoxville comma 24 Jan period 2015 period

Online (p. 48)

After the broadcast date, include the Web site name in italics, then the Web link to the video.

quotation mark It’s the Fish Episode comma Y’all period quotation mark A Chef’s Life comma season 2 comma episode 7 comma PBS comma 17 Nov period 2014 comma www.pbs.org/food/features/a-chefs-life-season-2-episode-7-fish-episode-yall/ period Accessed 3 Oct period 2016 period

From Database (p. 48)

After the publication date, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the video.

Gruetzmacher comma Geoff comma editor period quotation mark Smart Marine Mammals period quotation mark NOVA comma 21 Jul period 2009 period Diversity Studies Collection comma go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=PPDS&sw=w&u=tel_a_pstcc&v=2.1&id=GALE%7CCT3208605104&it=r&asid=849589646014c639e54d8204101ee5e6 period

Interview

  1. Interviewee
  2. Episode or Segment Title (in quotation marks)
  3. Interviewer
  4. Program Title (italicized)
  5. Network
  6. Local Station Call Letters
  7. Local Station City
  8. Broadcast Date

Knowles comma Beyoncé period Personal interview period 19 May 2016 period

TV Broadcast

al-Assad comma Bashar period Interview by Jeremy Brown period BBC News comma BBC One comma London comma 10 Feb period 2015 period

Radio Broadcast

Reilly comma Rick period quotation mark Chess Boxing and Other ‘Sports from Hell’ period quotation mark Interview by Guy Raz period Weekend All Things Considered comma National Public Radio comma WUOT comma Knoxville comma 13 Jun period 2010 period

From Database (p. 48)

After the city of broadcast date, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the image.

Schumacher-Matos comma Edward period quotation mark NPR Ombudsman Ponders Journalism’s Big Questions period quotation mark Interview by Neal Conan period Talk of the Nation comma National Public Radio comma WUOT comma Knoxville comma 11 Oct period 2011 period Literature Resource Center comma go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=LitRC&sw=w&u=tel_a_pstcc&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CA269374684&asid=d6778f06c679ef217f867ef02b209fde period