Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

MLA & APA Citation: Book or E-book

Book or E-book

Entire Edited Book (Anthology)
Editor & Author (Chapter, Story, Poem in Anthology)
Editor & No Author (Chapter, Story, Poem in Anthology)

Key Elements

  1. Author
  2. Book Title (italicized)
  3. Publisher
  4. Publication Year
  5. Page Number (p.) or Page Numbers (pp.)
  6. From Database: Database (italicized), Permanent Link
  7. From Web Site: Web Site Title (italicized), Web Site URL (no http), and Date Accessed

One Author (p. 21)

Start with the last name of the author (also when it is a corporation, p. 25), and add the first name and middle initial. Italicize the book title.

Schaller comma Barry R period Understanding Bioethics and the Law colon The Promises and Perils of the Brave New World of Biotechnology period Praeger comma 2008 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

Thomas comma Margaret period Picture Man colon The Legacy Of Southeast Alaska Photographer Shoki Kayamori period U of Alaska P comma 2015 period eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) comma search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct= true&db=nlebk&AN=974034&scope=site period

Two Authors (p. 21)

List the authors in the order they appear on the title page. List the first author with the last name first, then, list the second as first and last name.

Reed comma Thomas C period comma and Danny B period Stillman period The Nuclear Express colon A Political History of the Bomb and Its Proliferation period Zenith comma 2009 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

Priest comma Graham comma and Damon Young period Martial Arts And Philosophy colon Beating And Nothingness period Open Court comma 2010 period eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) comma search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db= nlebk&AN=479338&scope=site period

Three or More Authors (p. 22)

List the first author as last and first name, then add and "et al," which means "and others."

Delavier comma Frédéric comma et al period Delavier's Stretching Anatomy period Human Kinetics comma 2010 perio

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

Batchelor comma Andrew W period et al period Materials Degradation and Its Control by Surface Engineering period 3rd ed comma Imperial College comma 2011 period eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) comma search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct= true&db=nlebk&AN=389614&scope=site period

Entire Edited Book (p. 23)

Use for anthologies. Put the editor's name in the author position followed by "editor."

Magill comma Frank N period comma editor period Masterpieces of African-American Literature period Harper comma 1992 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

Rudwin comma Maximilian J period comma editor period Devil Stories colon An Anthology period Knopf comma 2010 period Project Gutenberg comma www.gutenberg.org/files/31754/31754-h/31754-h.htm period

Editor & Author (p. 30)

Use for chapter, story, or poem in an anthology. Begin with the author of the chapter or entry not the editor of the book. After the title of the book, add "edited by" and the editor's name.

Draper comma Alan period quotation mark George Wallace comma Civil Rights comma and the Alabama AFL-CIO period quotation mark Race comma Class comma and Community in Southern Labor History comma edited by Gary M period Fink and Merl E period Reed comma U of Alabama P comma 1994 comma pp period 212-229 period

For reference books that are arranged alphabetically, page numbers are not necessary.

Butterworth comma Susan period quotation mark Zora Neale Hurston period quotation mark The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature comma edited by Jay Parini comma vol period 2 comma Oxford UP comma 2004 period

E-book (p. 34)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

Buntline comma Ned period quotation mark Magdalena comma the Beautiful Mexican Maid period quotation mark Empire and the Literature of Sensation colon An Anthology of Nineteenth-Century Popular Fiction comma edited by Jesse Aleman and Shelley Streeby comma Rutgers UP comma 2007 comma pp period 21-106 period eBook Collection (EBSCOhost) comma search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=214830&scope=site&ebv=EB&ppid=pp_vii period

Editor & No Author (p. 24)

Use for chapter, story, or poem in an anthology. Begin with the title of the entry or chapter. If the entries are alphabetical, page numbers are not necessary.

“Giuseppe Verdi period quotation mark The New Penguin Opera Guide comma edited by Amanda Holden comma Penguin comma 2001 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

quotation mark Macrocephaly period quotation mark Dictionary of Medical Terms comma edited by P period H period Collin comma A&C Black comma 2008 period Credo Reference comma ezproxy.pstcc.edu:3443/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/acbmedterm/macrocephaly/0 period

Has Volume (p. 39)

Include the volume number after the edition. No edition? After the editor's name. No editor? After the title.

Rampersad comma Arnold period The Life of Langston Hughes comma 2nd ed period comma vol period 2 comma Oxford UP comma 2002 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

quotation mark Indirect Evidence period quotation mark Gale Encyclopedia of American Law comma edited by Donna Batten comma 3rd ed period comma vol period 5 comma Gale comma 2010 comma p period 417 period Gale Virtual Reference Library comma go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=tel_a_pstcc&v=2.1&it=r&id=GALE%7CCX1337702274&asid=f85ad47d8d0c8ccb7e0fd29ce0cd106c period

Has Edition (p. 38)

Only include edition if it is NOT the first edition. Write the edition as it appears in the book after the editor. No editor? After the title.

Roberts comma Christina period quotation mark Southwestern Tribal Literature period quotation mark Encyclopedia of American Indian Literature comma edited by Jennifer McClinton-Temple and Alan Velie comma 2nd ed period comma Facts on File-Infobase comma 2007 period

E-book (p. 48)

After the publication year, include the database in italics and then the permanent link to the book.

quotation mark Iran period quotation mark A Guide to Countries of the World comma edited by Christopher Riches and Peter Stalker comma 4 ed period comma Oxford UP comma 2016 period Oxford Reference comma www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780191803000.001.0001/acref-9780191803000-e period