Pellissippi HOME | Library Site A-Z

New Books: November 2016

Lists new books by month during the academic year.

B: PHILOSOPHY, PSYCHOLOGY, RELIGION

In the mind's eye: creative visual thinkers, gifted dyslexics, and the rise of visual technologies / Thomas G. West
BF426 .W47 2009

The dark side of church-state separation: the French revolution, Nazi Germany, and international Communism / Stephen Strehle
BV630.3 .S77 2014

The church on Summit Hill: the Catholics of Knoxville and East Tennessee / by Laurence V. Gibney
BX1417.T46 G52 2004


                                        


 

D: WORLD HISTORY

Commitment and sacrifice: personal diaries from the Great War / Marilyn Shevin-Coetzee and Frans Coetzee
D640.A2 C65 2015

How the war was won: air-sea power and Allied victory in World War II / Phillips Payson O'Brien
D743 .O25 2015

A history of Yorkshire: "county of the broad acres" / David Hey
DA670.Y6 H467 2011

Dust / Daniel Craig
DU125.D85 C675 2015


                                    


 

E & F: HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

Black girls and adolescents: facing the challenges / Catherine Fisher Collins, editor ; foreword by Marian Wright Edelman
E185.86 .B52558 2015

The Civil War guerrilla: unfolding the black flag in history, memory, and myth / edited by Joseph M. Beilein Jr. and Matthew C. Hulbert
E470 .C594 2015

The relocation of the American Indian / Don Nardo ; Bruno Leone series consultant
E98.R4 N37 2015


                              


The great melding: war, the Dixiecrat rebellion, and the Southern model for America's new conservatism / Glenn Feldman
F215 .F429 2015


G: GEOGRAPHY, ANTHROPOLOGY, RECREATION

Atlas of the 2012 elections / edited by J. Clark Archer [and others] ; cartography by J. Clark Archer and Robert H. Watrel
G1201.F9 A8 2014

Tourism and trails: cultural, ecological and management issues / Dallen J. Timothy and Stephen W. Boyd
G156.5.H47 T564 2015

Map worlds: a history of women in cartography / Will C. van den Hoonaard
GA203 .V35 2013


                                


A cultural history of body piercing / by Bonnie Szumski and Jill Karson
GN419.25 .S98 2014

A cultural history of tattoos / by Gail B. Stewart
GN419.25 .S99 2014

Chopsticks: a cultural and culinary history / Q. Edward Wang
GT2949 .W36 2015

The golden era of major league baseball: a time of transition and integration / Bryan Soderholm-Difatte
GV863.A1 S688 2015


                                        


 

H: BUSINESS, ECONOMICS, SOCIOLOGY

The minimum wage: a reference handbook / Oren M. Levin-Waldman
HD4918 .L4473 2016

Manufacturing jobs in the US / Amy Francis, book editor
HD9725 .M358 2015

Clothing poverty: the hidden world of fast fashion and second-hand clothes / Andrew Brooks
HD9940.A2 B76 2015

How consumer culture controls our kids: cashing in on conformity / Jennifer Hill
HF5415.332.C45 H55 2016

Communication essentials for dummies / by Elizabeth Kuhnke
HF5718 .K84 2015


                                


Location-based social networking and services / Roman Espejo, book editor
HM742 .L63 2014

In search of the new woman: middle-class women and work in Britain, 1870-1914 / Gillian Sutherland
HQ1593 .S923 2015

Fathers across cultures : the importance, roles, and diverse practices of dads / Jaipaul L. Roopnarine, editor
HQ756 .F38323 2015

I could not call her mother: the stepmother in American popular culture, 1750-1960 / Leslie J. Lindenauer
HQ759.92 .L56 2014

Fragmented citizens: the changing landscape of gay and lesbian lives / Stephen M. Engel
HQ76.8.U5 E54 2016


                                


Do abstinence programs work? / Christine Watkins, book editor
HQ800.15 .D62 2014

Introduction to cybercrime: computer crimes, laws, and policing in the 21st century / Joshua B. Hill, Nancy E. Marion
HV6773 .H554 2016

Hate crimes: a reference handbook / Donald Altschiller
HV6773.52 .A47 2015

Peacemaking circles & urban youth: bringing justice home / Carolyn Boyes-Watson ; foreword, Martin Brokenleg
HV9279 .B69 2008

Profiling and criminal justice in America: a reference handbook / Jeff Bumgarner
HV9950 .B86 2015


                                


 

J: POLITICAL SCIENCE

Debating the American conservative movement: 1945 to the present / Donald T. Critchlow and Nancy MacLean
JC573.2.U6 C748 2009



 

L: EDUCATION

Should junk food be sold in school? / Roman Espejo, Book Editor
LB3479.U6 .S56 2014



 

M: MUSIC

After Django: making jazz in postwar France / Tom Perchard
ML3509.F7 P47 2015

We'll have Manhattan: the early work of Rodgers and Hart, 1919-1931 / Dominic Symonds
ML410.R6315 S96 2015

Unfaithful music & disappearing ink / Elvis Costello
ML420.C685 A3 2015


                                        


 

N: FINE ART, ARCHITECTURE, DESIGN

American Illustration 34 / chairman, Kenneth Fadner; director and editor, Mark Heflin
Oversize NC975 .A465 2016

Contemporary Korean art: Tansaekhwa and the urgency of method / Joan Kee
ND1065.5.M65 K44 2013

Science and art: the painted surface / edited by Antonio Sgamellotti, Brunetto Giovanni Brunetti, Costanza Miliani
ND1635 .S34 2014

Beadwork, art and the body: Dilo Tse Dintshi = Abundance / edited by Anitra Nettleton
NK3650.5.A35 B43 2015


                                             


 

P: LANGUAGE & LITERATURE

Critical approaches to the films of Robert Rodriguez / edited by Frederick Luis Aldama ; afterword by Alvaro Rodriguez
PN1998.3.R633 C86 2015

Absolute Batman: The Long Halloween / Jeph Loeb & Tim Sale, storytellers ; Gregory Wright, colors ; Richard Starkings and Comicraft, letters ; introduction by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer
Oversize PN6728.B36 L62 2006

The Brontës at Haworth / by Ann Dinsdale ; illustrated by Simon Warner
PR4168 .D56 2013

William Wordsworth / edited and with an introduction by Harold Bloom ; [volume editor, Janyce Marson]
PR5881 .W465 2009

William Wordsworth in context / edited by Andrew Bennett
PR5888 .W455 2014


                                        


Goodbye to all that / Robert Graves
PR6013 .R35 1957

William Faulkner in context / edited by John T. Matthews
PS3511.A86 Z985695 2015

Household inventory: poems / by Connie Jordan Green
PS3557.R3635 A6 2015

Jeff Daniel Marion: poet on the Holston / edited by Jesse Graves, Thomas Alan Holmes, and Ernest Lee
PS3563.A656 Z68 2016

Congregation: poems / by Natasha Trethewey
PS3570.R433 C76 2014


                                             


Conversations with Natasha Trethewey / edited by Joan Wylie Hall
PS3570.R433 Z46 2013

Galaxie wagon: poems / Darnell Arnoult
PS3601.R586 A6 2016

A companion for owls: being the commonplace book of D. Boone, long hunter, back woodsman, etc. / Maurice Manning
PS3613.A5654 C66 2004

Appalachia now: short stories of contemporary Appalachia / editors: Larry Smith & Charles Dodd White
PS554 .A655 2015

Brecht in practice: theatre, theory and performance / David Barnett
PT2603.R397 Z55776 2015


                                        


 

Q: SCIENCE

Introduction to Windows and graphics programming with Visual C++ : (with companion media pack) / Roger Mayne
QA76.73.C153 M3284 2015

Astrophysics is easy!: an introduction for the amateur astronomer / Michael Inglis
QB461.3 .I55 2015


                              


 

R: MEDICINE

Unnatural selection: how we are changing life, gene by gene / Emily Monosson
RA1226 .M68 2015

Doctors at the borders: immigration and the rise of public health / Michael C. LeMay
RA643 .L45 2015

Understanding OCD: skills to control the conscience and outsmart obsessive compulsive disorder / Leslie J. Shapiro
RC533 .S53 2015

The psychobiology of transsexualism and transgenderism: a new view based on scientific evidence / Thomas E. Bevan
RC560.G45 B48 2015

Prescription drug abuse: a reference handbook / David E. Newton
RC564 .N497 2016


                                


 

S: AGRICULTURE

The story of seeds: from Mendel's garden to your plate, and how there's more of less to eat around the world / Nancy F. Castaldo
SB117.2 .C37 2016

The complete guide to saving seeds: 322 vegetables, herbs, flowers, fruits, trees, and shrubs / Robert Gough and Cheryl Moore-Gough
SB118.3 .G68 2011

Seedswap: the gardener's guide to saving and swapping seeds / Josie Jeffery
SB118.3 .J44 2013

The week-by-week vegetable gardener's handbook: perfectly timed gardening for your most bountiful harvest ever / Ron Kujawski & Jennifer Kujawski
SB321 .K85 2011


                                             


The manual of seed saving: harvesting, storing, and sowing techniques for vegetables, herbs, and fruits / Andrea Heistinger in association with Arche Noah ; translated by Ian Miller
SB324.75 .H4513 2013

The edible balcony: growing fresh produce in small spaces / Alex Mitchell ; photography by Sarah Cuttle
SB419.5 .M58 2012

Edible landscaping with a permaculture twist: how to have your yard and eat it too / Michael Judd ; [illustrations by Matthew Von Herbulis]
SB475.9.E35 J83 2013


                                        


 

T: TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, PHOTOGRAPHY, HOME ECONOMICS

Patterns of information management / Mandy Chessell, Harald C. Smith
T58.6 .C43185 2013

The global water crisis: a reference handbook / David E. Newton
TD348 .N49 2016

A career as a heavy equipment operator / Henrietta Toth
TH159 .T68 2016

A career as a construction manager / Ann Byers
TH438 .B87 2016

A career as a mason / Edward Willett
TH5321 .W55 2016

A career as an operating and stationary engineer / Kerry Hinton
TJ157 .H56 2016


                                             


Our robots, ourselves: robotics and the myths of autonomy / David A. Mindell
TJ211.495 .M56 2015

Optical communication systems: fundamentals, techniques and applications / Karla P. Boyd, editor
TK5103.59 .O666 2015

Digital nature photography: the art and the science / John and Barbara Gerlach
TR591 .D68 2015

Talking pictures: images and messages rescued from the past / Ransom Riggs
TR680 .R4985 2012

Careers in sheet metal and ironwork / Tamra B. Orr
TS250 .O77 2016


                                             


 

U & V: MILITARY SCIENCE

Cyber warfare: a reference handbook / Paul J. Springer
U163 .S66 2015

A cruise ship primer: history & operations / Craig A. Munsart
VM381 .M84 2015


                              


 

Z: PUBLISHING, LIBRARIES, INFORMATION SCIENCE

Research strategies: finding your way through the information fog / William Badke
Z710 .B23 2014



 

JUVENILE

Bone Gap / Laura Ruby
PZ7.R83138 Bon 2015 <---- Available in our Division Street campus library

Green city: how one community survived a tornado and rebuilt for a sustainable future / Allan Drummond
Juv. GE195.5 .D78 2016


                              


 

Robert McCabe Memorial Collection

Now that you know: a journey toward earth literacy / by McGregor Smith, Jr ; foreword by Miriam Therese MacGillis
GF75 .S6 1997

Future perfect / Stanley M. Davis
HD31 .D325 1987

Civil society: the underpinnings of American democracy / Brian O'Connell ; foreword John W. Gardner
JK1764 .O36 1999

Education watch: the 1998 Education Trust state and national data book, vol. II
LA209.2 .E38 1998

A place called school: prospects for the future / John I. Goodlad
LA217 .G654 1984

On higher education / David Riesman
LA227.3 .R53 1980

Shaping higher education's future: demographic realities and opportunities, 1990-2000 / Arthur Levine and associates
LA227.3 .S47 1989

Campus life: in search of community / the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching ; with a foreword by Ernest L. Boyer
LA229 .C27 1990

Individuality in learning / Samuel Messick & associates
LB1031 .I462 1976

Basic education online: identifying high-quality developmental education and ESOL courses for the open-content environment / League for Innovation in the Community College
LB1044.87 .B375 2005

Community college leadership for the '80s / John E. Roueche and George A. Baker III, editors
LB2328 .C6895 1984

Environmental education in the community college
LB2328 .P7x 1971

Education and U.S. competitiveness: the community college role / Mary Ann Roe
LB2328 .R6 1989

How administrators can improve teaching: moving from talk to action in higher education / Peter Seldin [editor] and associates ; foreword by Russell Edgerton
LB2331 .H66 1990

Strangers in their own land: part-time faculty in American community colleges / John E. Roueche, Suanne D. Roueche, Mark D. Milliron
LB2331.72 .R68 1995

The community college presidency / by George B. Vaughan
LB2341 .V34 1986

Tech prep associate degree: a win/win experience / written and compiled by Dan Hull and Dale Parnell
LB2381 .H855 1991

Equipped for the future content standards: what adults need to know and be able to do in the 21st century / by Sondra Stein
LC149.7 .S75 2000

Minorities on campus: a handbook for enhancing diversity / edited by Madeleine F. Green
LC3727 .M56 1989

Rising to the challenge: lessons learned from Guilford Technical Community College / edited by John E. Roueche and Suanne D. Roueche
LD6501.G85 R57 2012

General education in a changing society: general education program, basic skills requirements, standards of academic progress at Miami-Dade Community College / Jeffrey D. Lukenbill, Robert H. McCabe
LD6501.M47 L84 1978

Current issues in environmental education--III: selected papers from the sixth annual conference of the National Association for Environmental Education / edited by Robert H. McCabe
QH541.2 .C88 1977

Command decision and the Presidency: a study in national security policy and organization / R. Gordon Hoxie
UA23 .H59 1977

REFERENCE

The world almanac and book of facts 2016 / senior editor:  Sarah Janssen
AY67.N5 W7 2016 <---- Available in all five Pellissippi campus libraries



West's Tennessee digest, 2d.    KFT57 .T4 1986
Volumes 1, 1A, 2, 2A, 3, 3A, 4, 4A, 5, 5A, 5B, 6, 6A, 6B, 7, 7A, 7B, 8, 8A, 9, 9A, 10, 10A, 11, 11A, 11B, 11C, 12, 12A, 12B