Nursing: Web Resources

A collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, the County Health Rankings show the rank of the health of nearly every county in the nation.

Provides information on health facilities, health care professionals, and on the health status of Tennesseans.

The board’s mission is to safeguard the health, safety and welfare of Tennesseans by requiring that all who practice nursing within this state are qualified. The Board is responsible for the investigation of all violations of law and rules, and disciplines licensees of those who are found guilty.

The Department of Health works to promote, protect and improve the health and well-being of Tennesseans. The website includes health news and information about TN health initiatives and programs.

The mission of the Tennessee Nurses Association shall be to promote and protect the registered nurse and to advance the practice of nursing in order to assure a healthier Tennessee.

The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues.

A collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute, the County Health Rankings show the rank of the health of nearly every county in the nation.

The DRC website includes national and state-level data on hundreds of child health indicators.

Statistics and other publications available from the Department of Health

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situations

This site includes tools, web applications, articles, links, and libraries to assist both caregivers and students in the careplanning process. Our extensive library of care plans have been developed by nurses, for nurses to assist in all areas of the care planning process.

Provided in full-text online throught the American Journal of Nursing, the purpose of this series is to give nurses the knowledge and skills they need to implement EBP consistently, one step at a time.

Created by nurses, for nurses, Lippincott's NursingCenter.com contains professional information for nurses. Includes access to many free peer-reviewed journal articles, patient education materials, nursing news, etc.

The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy covers all the subjects expected in a textbook of internal medicine.

The National Network for Immunization Information (NNii) provides up-to-date, science-based information to healthcare professionals, the media, and the public.

Sponsored by the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, this site serves as a source of historical background information on issues regarding the nursing profession.

Blog from the American Journal of Nursing covering a variety of nursing news and topics.

A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries, this site helps the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.

The mission of the CDC is to collaborate to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.

Sponsored by the National Health Information Center, Healthfinder.gov contains information and tools on a wide range of health topics.

Provided by the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, NGCis a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.

"The mission of the National Center on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD) is to promote minority health and to lead, coordinate, support, and assess the NIH..."

NINR "supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals across the life span." Information and publications on topics such as end-of-life care, pediatrics, women's health, and geriatric care are accessible. Also includes information about diversity programs, conference listings, and other related links.

DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.

A service of the National Library of Medicine, Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variations on human health.

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to nearly 70,000 images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM).

MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.

The National Library of Medicine is the world’s largest biomedical library and a leader in research in computational health informatics. NLM plays a pivotal role in translating biomedical research into practice. NLM’s research and information services support scientific discovery, health care, and public health. NLM pioneers new ways to make biomedical data and information more accessible; builds tools for better data management and personal health... NLM enables researchers, clinicians, and the public to use the vast wealth of biomedical data to improve health.

...PubChem will serve as National Library of Medicine's single source for chemical information. NLM is retiring ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal to better focus...on a single, integrated source of chemical information. All of the data found in ChemIDplus and the Drug Information Portal is currently available and will continue to be available in PubChem. Also, look for TOXNET information under PubChem.

PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from Medline, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

A database containing nursing jobs by state.

A comparison of cost of living in all 50 states ranked by affordability of housing against average annual salary for registered nurses. The chart also includes projected number of jobs and growth rate.